Judicial Branch Statistics
Quick Links
Towns within Judicial Districts and Geographical Areas PDF
Towns & Cities Covered by Juvenile Court Locations PDF
Media Resource Center

Adult Probation
Adult Probation Data Glossary

Quarterly Caseload 2009 - July 1, 2024 - PDF
This table provides a snapshot of the number of adults on probation supervision as of the first day of each quarter. The count includes all adults with an open case. A breakdown of special case types is also provided.

Please note that individuals on parole are overseen by the state Department of Correction.

Glossary of Terms

Note on Table Creation: The information in the tables comes from databases that are always being updated. As a result, the tables only show the information that was in the databases on the day they were created. Information in the databases can change because cases that were disposed at the time the table was created were later reopened, or because of the late entry of data. Because of this, all of the tables are created on the 5th business day after the close of the fiscal year.

  • Added case: A case that is entered into one of the Judicial Branch’s automated systems.
  • Claimed case: A case in which a party or the party’s attorney (in a civil or family case) enters a claim that a case be placed onto a trial list.
  • Disposed case: A case in which a decision has been made.
  • Fiscal year: July 1st through June 30th.
  • Pending case: A case in which a decision has not been made.

Adult Probation Data Glossary

  • Accelerated Rehabilitation Supervision - A pretrial program for persons accused of a crime or crimes, or a motor vehicle violation for which a sentence to a term of imprisonment may be imposed, which crimes or violations are not of a serious nature.

  • Community Service Labor Program – Suspended Prosecution - The Community Service Labor Program (CSLP) (section 53a-39c of the Connecticut General Statutes) is available for persons charged with violating drug paraphernalia or illegal possession statutes (section 21a-267 or 21a-279 of the Connecticut General Statutes). A person who previously has been convicted of a violation of section 21-267, 21a-277, 21a-278 or 21a-279 of the Connecticut General Statutes is not eligible for the program. The program may be granted (1) as a “suspended prosecution” pretrial diversionary program, or (2) for a person who has previously participated in the program, as a condition of probation or conditional discharge with a suspended sentence. No person may be placed in the program more than twice.

    A person who is granted the “suspended prosecution” program is referred to the Court Support Services Division (CSSD) for placement in the program. A drug education component is required. If the defendant successfully completes the program, the charges are dismissed by the court. The period of community service will be a minimum of 14 days for a first violation and 30 days for a second violation involving a plea of guilty and conviction.

  • Drug Dependency Supervision – This category includes cases that are either referred for supervision under section 17a- 696 or sentenced under section17a-699  of the Connecticut General Statutes.

  • Sex Offender Supervision - A probation supervision classification consisting of individuals who are on probation for an offense that is statutorily subject to registration as required by state statutes.

  • Supervised Diversionary Program - A diversionary program for people who have a psychiatric disability that are accused of a crime or crimes, or a motor vehicle violation for which a sentence to a term of imprisonment may be imposed, which crimes or violations are not of a serious nature.

  • Youthful Offender Supervision – Youthful Offender (YO) is a status that is available to eligible 16- and 17-year-olds charged with a crime. Not all 16- and 17-year-olds are eligible for YO status; under state law, certain crimes – a class A felony, for example – are excluded. For a list of offenses excluded from YO status, see section 54-76b  of the Connecticut General Statutes. It should be noted that beginning January 1, 2010, 16 year-olds are considered to be juveniles instead of youthful offenders.

Judicial Branch Statistics  |  Top