History of the Connecticut Judicial Seal Home Home BannerBanner

Case Look-up Courts Directories Educational Resources E-Services Juror Information Online Media Resource Center Opinions Opportunities Self-Help Frequently Asked Questions Home Attorneys espanol home navigation




231 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, Connecticut 06106
(860) 757-2270, Fax (860) 757-2215


Justice Borden Announces Members of Judicial-Media Committee, Fire Brigade

Quick Links

Judicial-Media Committee
Committees and Commissions
Media Resource Center
Senior Associate Justice David M. Borden today announced the composition of the newly formed Judicial-Media Committee and “Fire Brigade,” both of which are outgrowths of the Public Access Task Force that he appointed this year.

“Establishing the Judicial-Media Committee and the Fire Brigade was a unanimous recommendation from the task force,” Justice Borden said. “We have put together a distinguished group, and I am pleased that all of these outstanding individuals have agreed to serve. I look forward to seeing the results of their work.”

The Judicial-Media Committee will be co-chaired by Appellate Court Judge Douglas S. Lavine and G. Claude Albert, managing editor of The Hartford Courant. The committee’s mission is “to foster and improve better understanding and relationships between the judicial branch of government and the media, both print and electronic.”

Other members of the committee are: Scott F. Brede, editor-in-chief, The Connecticut Law Tribune; Superior Court Judge Patrick J. Clifford, chief administrative judge for criminal matters; Superior Court Judge Nina F. Elgo; Superior Court Judge Robert L. Holzberg; Attorney Charles L. Howard of Shipman & Goodwin; Ken Margolfo, assignment manager, Fox 61, WTIC-TV; Morgan McGinley, editorial page editor, The Day of New London; Dana Neves, news director, WFSB-TV, Channel 3; Chris Powell, managing editor, Journal Inquirer; Superior Court Judge Barbara M. Quinn, chief administrative judge for juvenile matters; Patrick Sanders, Connecticut news editor, Associated Press; Superior Court Judge Michael E. Shay; Superior Court Judge Barry K. Stevens; Attorney Stanley A. Twardy, Jr., Day, Berry & Howard; and Adriana Venegas, victim advocate with the Office of Victim Services.

The committee’s first meeting will be in January or February.

The Fire Brigade, which also will be operational early next year, is a response team that will advise journalists, judges, and other court personnel when disputes arise regarding access to court documents and proceedings. Its members are: Superior Court Judge Patrick L. Carroll III; Superior Court Judge Patrick J. Clifford; Heather Collins, court reporter, Journal Inquirer; Erin Cox, investigative and general news reporter, WTNH Television, News Channel 8; Karen Florin, staff writer, The Day; Superior Court Judge David P. Gold; Superior Court Judge Susan B. Handy; Superior Court Judge Barbara B. Jongbloed; Zach Lowe, staff writer, The Stamford Advocate; and Lynne Tuohy, legal affairs reporter, The Hartford Courant.


Attorneys | Case Look-up | Courts | Directories | Educational Resources | E-Services | Español | FAQ's | Juror Information | Media | Opinions | Opportunities | Self-Help | Home

Common Legal Words | Contact Us | Site Map | Website Polices and Disclaimers

Copyright © 2016, State of Connecticut Judicial Branch