
The mission of Records Center is to serve 
the Public, the Courts, Law Enforcement 

Agencies and Governmental Agencies 
through maintenance, retrieval and 
destruction of records of the Judicial 

Branch in conformance with the 
Connecticut General Statutes and the 

Connecticut Practice Book.

SuperiorCourtRecordsCenter@jud.ct.gov

111 Phoenix Avenue
Enfield, CT 06082

SuperiorCourtRecordsCenter@jud.ct.gov
(860) 741-3714

Monday through Friday
9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut 
complies with the American’s with Disabilities Act 

(ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in 
accordance with the ADA, contact a court person 

listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA/.
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Sections 7-11 and 7-13 of the Connecticut 
Practice Book require the Records Center to 
keep the following types of records for the 
following time period:
• �Nolles/Dismissals – 3 years
• �Paid Infractions/Violations – 5 years
• �Motor Vehicle Misdemeanors – 10 years
• �Criminal Misdemeanors – 10 years
• �Criminal Felonies – 20 years or the length of

sentence, whichever is longer
• �Capital Felonies – 75 years
• �Youthful Offender – 10 years
• �Not Guilty because of Mental Disease or

Defect – 75 years
• �Civil/Family/Juvenile – 3 years to permanently

depending on the disposition and type of case
• �Actions Affecting Title to Land – 40 years

*Please Note: Some records do not stay public
records for the whole time that they are kept  
by the Records Center. If a record is no longer 
public, only certain individuals will have access to 
that record. 

How do I get to Records Center?
The Records Center is located about 15 miles north 
of Hartford and 10 miles south of Springfield, MA. 
Take I-91 N or I-91 S to exit 47E, turn right off the 
exit and take the first street on the right (Phoenix 
Avenue). The Records Center is the last building on 
the left in the Enfield GA Courthouse. 
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You need to have the following information 
for the Records Center to be able to find a 
specific record:
•  Party name
•  Docket number
•  Date of disposition
•  �For civil cases, you must also have the Record 

Center Location Number (available from the 
Clerk’s office where the case was heard)  

If you do not know all of this information, you can 
look online or contact the Clerk’s Office at the court 
where the case was heard.

Criminal/Motor Vehicle docket numbers: http://
www.jud.ct.gov/crim.htm

Civil and Family docket numbers
http://civilinquiry.jud.ct.gov/

Court Telephone Numbers:  
http://www.jud.ct.gov/directory/court_directions.htm#GA 

There are three ways that you may request 
(ask for) a copy of a file or record:
•  �Email your request to: 

SuperiorCourtRecordsCenter@jud.ct.gov. Email 
is the preferred method for requesting copies. The 
Records Center staff will respond promptly when 
the file has been located, and will tell you the cost 
and your options for getting the copies.

•  �You may also call (860) 741-3714 between 9:00 
a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday-Friday.

•  �You may also send a written request to the 
Records Center at 111 Phoenix Avenue, Enfield, 
CT 06082.  

* �PLEASE DO NOT APPEAR IN PERSON 
AT THE RECORDS CENTER WITHOUT 
CONFIRMATION THAT THE FILE HAS  
BEEN LOCATED.

What are the fees for a copy of a record? 
All copies are $1.00 per page. There is an additional 
$2.00 fee if you would like the documents certified. 
Please do not send cash through the mail. 

What documents may be in a court file? 
A court file may include any or all of the following 
documents: executed arrest warrant; original 
affidavit in support of probable cause; summons and 
complaint; infraction/payable violation complaint; 
uniform arrest report (UAR); information or 
indictment and any substitute information; written 
plea of nolo contendere; documents relating to 
programs; official receipts; judgment mittimus; 
notice of rights; orders about probation; and 
transaction sheet. 

If all of my charges were nolled or dismissed, 
how long do they stay a public record? 
•  �Nolle – 13 months from the date of disposition
•  �Dismissal/Not Guilty/Acquittal – 20 days from 

the date of disposition

Under what circumstances would the Clerk’s 
Office or the Records Center say that there is 
no public record of or in a case? 
•  �The case was dismissed more than 20 days ago.
•  �A nolle was entered in the case more than 13 

months ago.
•  �The case either ended in a finding of “not guilty” 

or a judgment of acquittal more than 20 days ago. 
•  �The file is sealed by statue or court order.
•  �The defendant was granted an absolute pardon.
•  �The defendant was adjudicated a youthful 

offender and has been discharged from the 
supervision of the court. 

•  �The offense for which the defendant was 
convicted has been decriminalized.

•  �The records of the case are subject to erasure 
under section 54-142a of the Connecticut 
General Statutes for another reason.

IF ANY OF THESE EVENTS HAVE 
OCCURRED, THE CLERK MUST RESPOND 
BY SAYING THAT THE COURT HAS 
“NO PUBLIC RECORD OF THE CASE.” 
THE DETAILS OF SUCH A CASE OR ITS 
DISPOSITION CANNOT BE DISCLOSED 
EXCEPT TO THE DEFENDANT WITH 
PROPER IDENTIFICATION. 

The following are acceptable forms  
of identification:
•  �A current Connecticut driver’s license 
•  �A current Connecticut driver’s only license
•  �A current driver’s license from another state that 

has a photo of the individual
•  �An official, current, valid photo ID issued by a 

municipality, employer, or college
•  �A current passport
•  �A current identity card issued by the 

Connecticut DMV

SuperiorCourtRecordsCenter@jud.ct.gov


