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THE DEFENDANT’S CASE
(person being sued)

How do I answer the claim?

2.  �If you think that the plaintiff owes you money, you may file a 
“counterclaim” against the plaintiff. If you file a counterclaim, 
you must pay a filing fee of $95.00 to the clerk’s office. The filing 
fee will be added to the amount of your judgment against the 
plaintiff if you win. Do not add the filing fee to the amount you 
claim the plaintiff owes you. 
 
Be clear about the amount of money you are asking for and the 
reasons for your counterclaim. If the amount of the counterclaim 
is more than the amount that can be sued for in small claims, see 
Transfer of Cases to the Regular Docket on page 12 for more 
information on moving your case to the regular Superior Court.

	 (over)
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Fees Payable to the Clerk in Small Claims Cases

Filing (entry) fee...................................................................... $95.00*

Filing of a Counterclaim.......................................................... $95.00*

Motion to Transfer to the Regular Docket............................. $125.00

Application for Execution...................................................... $105.00*

Jury Claim Fee....................................................................... $440.00*

Motion to Open Judgment........................................................ $75.00

Photocopies (per page).............................................................. $1.00

Certification of Document.......................................................... $2.00

*Fees that changed July 1, 2016
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DISCLAIMER
(the reasons for this booklet and how it can and cannot help you)

This booklet was written by the Connecticut Judicial Branch and is based 
on the Connecticut General Statutes and Superior Court rules of practice 
in effect at the time the booklet was written. This booklet is provided as a 
public service and does not take the place of getting legal advice from a 
Connecticut attorney.

People who work for the court will help you with questions you have 
about how Small Claims Court works.  Those people cannot act as your 
attorney or give you legal advice. You are responsible for any actions you 
take. The court clerk’s office is not responsible for anything that is wrong 
in this booklet or that is not in this booklet. If you think you need more 
information or help, you should talk with an attorney or read the sections 
of the Connecticut General Statutes and the Connecticut Practice Book 
that talk about Small Claims.

This booklet has information in it that should help people 
who start a small claims case or who are sued in small 
claims court. Many questions about this booklet and 
about the small claims process may be answered by the 
people who work in the court. You can get forms about 
the small claims process on-line at www.jud.ct.gov or at 
any clerk’s office or court service center.
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INTRODUCTION
(answers to basic questions)

What is “Small Claims Court”?
The “Small Claims Court” is a part of Connecticut’s court system where 
a person can sue for up to $5,000.00 in money damages only. This 
amount is set by state law and may change from time to time. To find out 
the current amount, you may contact the Centralized Small Claims office 
at 80 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106, telephone: (860) 756-7800 
or toll-free in Connecticut 1-866-383-5927. You may also be able to get 
interest and costs. The only time that a person can sue for more than the 
$5,000.00 limit is in a lawsuit to have a landlord return a security deposit 
in a landlord-tenant matter. In that kind of case only, a person can sue 
for double the amount of the security deposit, plus interest that has been 
added to the amount, even if the doubled amount brings the claim over 
the $5,000.00 limit.

•	 The Small Claims Court does not hear libel and slander cases.

•	 Most small claims cases are heard by magistrates or approved small 
claims commissioners.

•	 Small claims cases are not recorded; there is no transcript of the 
proceedings.

•	 Information about specific small claims cases can be found at: http://
www.jud2.ct.gov/Small Claims/. That information may be searched 
by party name, docket number, court calendar, attorney case list, 
attorney calendar, and attorney search.

•	 If you lose the small claims case and you are ordered to pay money 
to the other person in the case (plaintiff or defendant), your ability to 
get credit may change. Small claims judgments (decisions) are public 
information and could show up on your credit report.  The laws 
that control Consumer Credit Reports are in Section 36a-695 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes and the sections that follow that section 
of the statutes. If you need paperwork from the court file to clarify 
with or to ask the Consumer Credit Reporting Agency for a change to 
an item on your credit report, you may get copies from the court file 
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in your case.  $1.00 per page is charged by the court clerk for most 
copies.

•	 If you have a complaint about a Consumer Credit Reporting 
Agency you may complain to the Connecticut Banking Department, 
Consumer Credit Division, 260 Constitution Plaza, Hartford, CT 
06103-1800. Section 36a-695 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

•	 There is no appeal from small claims judgments.

SPECIAL NOTE: By law, you must start your case within a certain 
amount of time. If you wait too long to start your case, you may lose 
your case. Please look at Chapter 926 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes for information.

How is the Small Claims session different from other 
court sessions?

The Small Claims session of the Superior Court has simpler rules than 
the regular civil session of that court. Small Claims forms are designed 
to be understood without legal training. The rules and forms are designed 
to allow the person or company suing (the plaintiff) to sue a person or 
company (the defendant) without the help of an attorney. Those rules and 
forms do not cover all situations. You may file a small claims lawsuit 
against a person who lives out of state only if that person owns property 
in the state of Connecticut. A statement that the out-of-state person owns 
property must be included in the claim. You may also file a small claims 
lawsuit against out-of-state businesses, corporations and limited liability 
companies (LLCs).

Do I need to hire an attorney?
Attorneys may represent you in small claims court, but every part of the 
Small Claims Court has been set up so a person can handle their own 
case from the start of the case to the end of the case. 

If you are representing yourself in your case, you must show the court all 
your proof. The court and the clerk’s office will help you with the various 
steps in the case (the court process), but they can only help with the 
process. They cannot give you legal advice.
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THE PLAINTIFF’S CASE
(person who starts the case)

How do I start a small claims case (lawsuit)?
Under the Small Claims Rules of Practice in the Connecticut Practice 
Book (January 1, 2011), the person who files the case (the plaintiff) must 
serve (deliver) the lawsuit to each person they are suing (defendant) by 1 
of the following 4 ways:

•	 priority mail with delivery confirmation;

•	 certified mail, return receipt requested;

•	 a nationally recognized courier service, with delivery confirmation, 
or;

•	 service (delivery) by a proper officer (for example, a state marshal).

Service (delivery) by a proper officer is required when the defendant 
is an out-of-state business (a business organized under the laws of a 
state other than Connecticut).  There are also special service (delivery) 
requirements when the plaintiff sues an out-of-state insurance company.  
See the form How to Serve (Deliver to Defendant) a Small Claims Writ 
and Notice of Suit in Section 11 of this booklet.  The plaintiff must pay 
the cost of service but can get the cost back from the defendant if the 
plaintiff wins the small claims case and is able to collect the money 
awarded in the judgment from the defendant. 

The statute of limitations is a time limit on how long a plaintiff has to 
start a case.  If the claim is a debt or obligation incurred primarily for 
personal, family or household purposes, the plaintiff will need to give the 
reasons why the plaintiff believes that the statute of limitations time limit 
has not run out.

The plaintiff must also show how he or she knows that the address given 
for each defendant is accurate and how the address was checked within 
the 6 months before starting the lawsuit.  The following documents must 
be filled out first.

1.  Fill-out the “Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit” (JD-CV-40) form. 
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The form should be typed or printed neatly so it can be read. Please 
remember that the form is a legal document.  The clerk’s office will 
not accept your case if any copies of the form cannot be read.  Do not 
“white-out” or “cross-out” any information you put on the form.  The 
name of the person or business you are suing (the defendant) must be 
its exact, correct legal name. If you make a mistake and put the wrong 
name on the form, you may not get your money. You may not use initials, 
nicknames, or abbreviations of any person or business you are suing. For 
example, “Richard Jones” cannot be sued as “R. Jones” or “Dick Jones.” 
If you leave out any part of any name on the form, you may not get your 
money.  (See the sample Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit form 
in Section 11 of this booklet.)

There are numbered Instructions to Plaintiff to help you fill out each part 
of the form.  Forms that are not complete and forms that cannot be read 
will be returned to you for you to complete or correct and those forms 
will have to be served (delivered) again by you.  You will have to pay the 
costs to have the form delivered again. If you win the small claims case, 
a magistrate will decide if you can be awarded the costs for the additional 
delivery.

If there are more than 2 people who start the case (the plaintiffs) or 2 
people who are sued (the defendants) in your case, check the box under 
Defendants 1 and 2 and list the additional plaintiffs or defendants on the 
Continuation of Parties (JD-CV-67) form.  

2.  If your claim is against a business, you must find out if that business 
is a DBA (person “doing business as” a company, also known as 
“trade names”), a corporation, a limited liability company (LLC) or a 
partnership. To find out if the business is incorporated and who the legal 
documents for the case can be delivered to (served on), call the Secretary 
of the State, Commercial Recording Corporation Information, 30 Trinity 
Street, Hartford, CT 06106 at (860) 509-6002 or go to the Secretary of 
State’s website at: www.sots.ct.gov (Commercial Recording Division).  
Information about DBAs can be found at the office of the town clerk 
where the party is doing business. 

If the business is an out-of-state business (a business that is not 
organized under Connecticut laws), the original Small Claims Writ 
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and Notice of Suit must be served by a proper officer. The information 
about the business and who is the agent for service will be required by 
the officer you hire to deliver the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit. 
If the claim is against an in-state business (a business that is organized 
under Connecticut laws), you may serve that business by any of the 4 
ways that are allowed for serving the claim (see above).

3.  Attach any documents or papers about your case to the Small Claims 
Writ and Notice of Suit, for example, leases, statements, invoices, bills. 

4.  You must sign and notarize the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit 
before serving it.  Your signature must be notarized. You must sign 
the claim in front of the person who is notarizing it.  You must also 
print your name clearly and your title, if you have a title, in the box 
provided.  Your oath must be taken at the time you sign the claim and 
the person who took your oath (the Clerk, a Notary, or a Commissioner 
of the Superior Court) must also sign.  Attorneys are Commissioners of 
the Superior Court.   Remember to keep copies of all documents and 
papers for yourself.

5.  You must serve (deliver to) or have a proper officer serve (deliver to) 
a copy of the completed original Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit 
on each defendant along with the Instructions to Defendant (Notice to 
Person Being Sued) form before filing it with the court.  See How to 
Serve a Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit for instructions. Samples 
of all forms are in Section 11.  A copy of all papers that you are going 
to file with the court, including all attachments to the original Small 
Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, must be served (delivered).  After service 
(delivery) is completed, file the original papers and a Statement of 
Service for each defendant with the court.  Keep a copy of all papers for 
your records.  

You must also give the entry fee to the clerk’s office.  See Section 10 of 
this booklet for a list of court fees in Small Claims cases.  The entry fee 
will be added to the amount of your judgment against the defendant if 
you win. Do not add the entry fee to the amount you are suing for.

What happens after I file (start) the claim?
After you file your case, the clerk will pick a date the defendant has to 
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answer your claim by.  That date is called the “answer date.”  The clerk 
will mail a number assigned to the case called a docket number and the 
answer date to all the plaintiffs or their representatives. The clerk will 
send an answer form that includes the docket number of the case and the 
answer date to each defendant at the address given to the clerk by the 
plaintiff.

Do not come to court on the answer date.

Where do I file (start) the Small Claims Case?
Small Claims cases may be mailed or hand delivered to the Centralized 
Small Claims Office at 80 Washington Street, Hartford, CT  06106 or to 
the proper local court which can be found by looking at Section 7 of this 
booklet for all cases except landlord-tenant matters. For landlord-tenant 
matters, look at Section 9 of this booklet.

If the plaintiff is a person and not a business and the case does not 
involve a landlord-tenant matter, the place where the trial will take place 
(venue), if a trial is necessary, will be a court in one of the following 
places: (1) where you live; (2) where the party you are suing (the 
defendant) lives or does business; or (3) where the thing or injury you are 
suing about took place. If the claim is a landlord-tenant matter, the trial 
will be in the court location where the house or apartment (premises) is 
located.

If the plaintiff is a corporation organized under Connecticut laws, a 
United States corporation, a foreign corporation (organized under the 
laws of another state) or a limited liability company, the place where 
the trial will take place (venue), if a trial is necessary, will be in the 
court which serves the town in which the defendant lives or is doing 
business or where the thing or injury the plaintiff is suing about took 
place.

Reminder:  You cannot sue a person in Small Claims Court if 
that person does not live in Connecticut unless that person owns 
property in Connecticut.  You must say in the Small Claims Writ 
and Notice of Suit that the person you are suing owns property in 
Connecticut. 
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What happens if the defendant files an answer?
1.	 Each defendant must send a copy of his or her answer to each 
attorney or other representative of the plaintiff, or if the plaintiff is 
representing himself or herself, to the plaintiff.

•	 If a defendant does not agree with (denies) the claim, a trial will be 
set up and you will be notified by mail of the time and date of the 
trial.

•	 If a defendant agrees with (admits) the claim and offers to pay you 
a certain amount of money for a certain period of time, you may 
agree to the defendant’s offer of payment.  The case will be given to 
a magistrate who will review the case and may enter an agreed on 
(stipulated) judgment.

•	 If you do not agree to any part of the defendant’s offer of payment, a 
trial may be scheduled.

2.	 If the defendant files an answer and a counterclaim or setoff (a 
claim that the defendant makes against you or a claim by the defendant 
that your claim should be reduced in some way), the clerk’s office will 
send you a form on which you can reply to the counterclaim or setoff.  
You should send the completed form back to the clerk’s office on or 
before the counterclaim/setoff answer date on the form.

Because of the filing of a counterclaim or setoff, you may file a motion to 
transfer the case to the regular docket of the Superior Court on or before 
the counterclaim/setoff answer date. (See page 12 for more details on 
the transfer of cases to the regular docket.)

What happens if the defendant does not file an 
answer?
If your claim is against a person, you must say, under oath, whether the 
person is or is not in the military or naval service and how you know 
that.  You will not be able to get a judgment against a defendant who has 
not answered unless you file an affidavit (a paper signed under oath) with 
the court that states facts showing that the defendant is not in the military 
or naval service.  You can find out if the person you are suing is in the 
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military or naval service from the Defense Manpower Data Center (see 
mailing address on this page) or by using the following website if you 
have the first and last name of the person and one of the following: the 
person’s date of birth or the person’s social security number. The website 
is: https://www.dmdc.osd.mil/appj/scra/index.jsp. This web address 
must be typed exactly, including the “s” after the http.  There is no fee 
for using this service.  The statement provided by the website must be 
attached to an affidavit stating that the defendant is not in the military or 
naval service.

If you cannot find out if the person is in the military or naval service, you 
must tell that to the court. You must also tell the court what you did to 
find out.  You will not be able to get a judgment until you tell the court 
if the person is or is not in the service or until you post (give) a bond (an 
amount of money or a legal document promising to pay an amount of 
money) to protect the legal rights of the person you sued if that person is 
in the service.  The amount of time the bond is kept depends on the kind 
of judgment that is entered. 

If you do not know the date of birth of the person you are suing, and you 
do not know the social security number of the person you are suing, you 
will have to find out the military status of that person by asking a person 
who knows the person you are suing well to fill out an affidavit (written 
statement under oath), or by giving the place of the defendant’s full time 
employment in an affidavit of your own.  For the affidavit, you can use 
court form JD-FM-178, Affidavit Concerning Military Service, which 
you can get on the Judicial Branch website at: http://www.jud2.ct.gov/
webforms/forms/fm178.pdf, or at the clerk’s office or court service 
center. You can also get information about whether the person you are 
suing is in the military or naval service by mail, without charge, from:

Defense Manpower Data Center 
1600 Wilson Boulevard 
Suite 400 
Arlington, VA 22209-2593 
Att: Military Verification

You must send the Defense Manpower Data Center the first and last 
name of the person you are suing and that person’s date of birth or social 
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security number. You must also send the center an envelope with your 
address and a stamp on it. If you say under oath that you cannot find out 
if the person is in the military or naval service, you may not be able to 
get a judgment until you can find out that information. 

Based on the kind of case you have, if the defendant does not file an 
answer the court may enter a judgment against the defendant (called a 
“default judgment”) for the full amount of your claim plus costs, or the 
court may schedule the matter for a trial to decide how much is owed to 
you.

The clerk’s office will let you know if you have to come to court to prove 
your claim. Whether or not you have to come to court is based on the 
kind of case and the different papers or documents, if any, your case is 
based on.

If the party you are suing pays you all the money you claim is owed 
before the court enters judgment, you should end the case (withdraw the 
action) by filing a Withdrawal (JD-CV-70) form with the clerk. You can 
get the Withdrawal form from the following website: http://www.jud2.
ct.gov/webforms/forms/cv070.pdf.

Be sure that you have actually gotten payment (for example, the check 
has cleared) before you withdraw the case. You can mail the Withdrawal 
form to the Centralized Small Claims office at 80 Washington Street, 
Hartford, CT  06106 or you can fax it to that office at: (860) 756-7805. 
Make sure you include on the Withdrawal form the docket number of 
your case, the answer date or hearing date and the names of the parties. 
Fill out the certification at the bottom of the Withdrawal form and send a 
copy of it to the defendant.
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Section 2
THE DEFENDANT’S CASE
(person being sued)

How do I answer the claim?
1.	 If you want to respond to the claim of the person who is suing 
you (the plaintiff), you must file an Answer. You will get an Answer 
form from the court shortly after the Small Claims case has been served 
on (delivered to) you by the plaintiff and the plaintiff has filed the case 
with the court. You should fill out the Answer form and return it to the 
court. You must send a copy of the Answer to each attorney or other 
representative of the plaintiff, or if the plaintiff is representing himself 
or herself, to the plaintiff and certify on the Answer form that you have 
done that. 

If you do not agree with the plaintiff’s claim, you should explain why 
you do not owe the money. Your answer does not have to be long because 
you will have a chance to explain your case at the trial. If you attach any 
papers as part of your answer, you must send a copy of all of the papers 
to each plaintiff.

2.	 If you think that the plaintiff owes you money, you may file 
a “counterclaim” against the plaintiff by filling out the Counterclaim 
section on the Answer form.

Be clear about the amount of money you are asking for and the 
reasons for your counterclaim and label it clearly on your Answer as a 
counterclaim. If the amount of the counterclaim is more than the amount 
that can be sued for in small claims, see Transfer of Cases to the 
Regular Docket on page 12 for more information on moving your case 
to the regular Superior Court.

3.	 The answer must be in writing and must be given to the court 
on or before the Answer Date.

4.	 Even if you think you owe the plaintiff some money, but you 
disagree with or are unsure about the amount that you owe, you must file 
an answer. Filing an answer will give you a chance to come to court for a 
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trial so that a magistrate can decide the amount that you owe the plaintiff.

5.	 If you are sure that you owe the plaintiff the entire amount 
claimed but you want time to pay, you should file an answer telling the 
reasons why you need more time to pay. You may suggest a payment 
amount and schedule for such payments (a period of time for you to 
make the payments.)  If the plaintiff does not accept your request, you 
may have to come to court for a trial on your request for additional time 
to pay.

SPECIAL NOTE: Do not send payments to the court.

Will I have my trial (hearing) on the answer date?
No. Do not come to court for trial on the answer date. You will be told of 
the date and time of your trial by mail.

What happens if I do not file an answer?
The court may enter a judgment against you (called a “default 
judgment”) for the full amount of the plaintiff’s claim plus costs, or the 
court may schedule the matter for a trial to decide how much you owe (a 
“hearing in damages”).

If you do not file an answer by the answer date, the court will decide that 
(1) you do not want to argue about the reasons why the plaintiff claims 
you owe the money and (2) you do not want to argue about the amount 
of money that the plaintiff claims you owe. The court can then enter a 
default judgment against you.
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Section 3
TRANSFER OF CASES TO THE REGULAR 
DOCKET 
(moving small claims cases from Small Claims Court to the regular 
Superior Court)
A case filed in Small Claims Court (on a small claims docket) may be 
moved (transferred) to the regular docket of the Superior Court or to the 
regular docket of the Housing Court.

One reason a case may be moved is because the defendant, or the 
plaintiff in a case where the defendant has filed a counterclaim, wants 
the case transferred.  If that is the reason, the person who wants the case 
moved must file a motion to transfer the case to the regular docket on or 
before the answer date with a certification that the motion was delivered 
to every other party involved in the action. 

Another reason a case may be moved is because a motion to open a 
judgment claiming lack of actual notice of the case is granted.  If that is 
the reason, the motion to transfer, all documents with it and the proper 
fees must be filed within 15 days after the notice granting the motion to 
open was sent.

The motion to transfer must be filed with (1) a counterclaim in an amount 
that is more  than the amount that can be asked for in small claims court; 
or (2) an affidavit (sworn statement) saying that a good defense exists 
to the claim and giving clearly the type of defense, or (3) an affidavit 
saying that the case has been correctly claimed for trial by jury. If the 
court finds that one of these conditions applies, the motion to transfer 
the case to the regular docket will be granted without the need for you to 
come to court for a hearing.

The party who has filed the motion to transfer the case to the regular 
docket must pay all required fees at the time the motion to transfer is 
filed, including any jury fees if a claim for a jury trial is filed. As of the 
date of the printing of this booklet, the fee for the motion to transfer 
was $125.00 and the jury fee was $425.00. These amounts can change. 
Contact the Centralized Small Claims office for the amounts or check 
“Fees” on the Judicial Branch website at www.jud.ct.gov.
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Section 4
WHAT TO DO WHILE YOU ARE WAITING FOR A 
TRIAL (hearing) DATE

Get all of your papers and other records (documentation) ready.
The most important thing to do before the trial date is to collect and 
organize all papers that have to do with your claim.  Those papers 
include invoices, letters, statements of account, estimates of damage, 
paid bills, leases, canceled checks, and any other records. Be sure to 
bring them with you when you come to court.  You should bring an extra 
set of copies to the trial.

Figure out who your witnesses will be and if they will come to court 
on their own or if they will have to be ordered to come to court.
Sometimes a friend, relative or neighbor saw what happened. You should 
bring this person to court with you. If the person is not willing to come 
to court with you, you may ask the clerk of the Small Claims Court for 
a Subpoena (JD-CL-43) form (order to come to court). (See sample 
Subpoena form in Section 11.)

You must fill out the form and give it to the clerk. The clerk will review 
the Subpoena and, if appropriate, will sign it. It may not be possible for 
you to make a witness who does not live in Connecticut come to the 
trial. You must have the Subpoena delivered by a proper officer at least 
18 hours before the hearing date. (There is a charge for this delivery 
which you will have to pay the proper officer.) Sworn statements 
(affidavits) may not be filed with the magistrate instead of the testimony 
of a witness. If you file that kind of affidavit, the magistrate may not be 
willing to use it to decide your case.

Make an outline of the facts of your case
Write down the facts of your case for your own use. It is important to 
remember that the magistrate or other person hearing the case (judicial 
authority) was not there when the thing you sued the defendant for 
happened. Because of that, the magistrate’s view of the matter can only 
be based on what is said and what is brought to the trial. You should 
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organize the facts of the case, and you should not give opinions to the 
magistrate.  That will be the best way to prove your case.

What if I need the date of my trial changed to another 
day (a postponement)?
If it is impossible for you to come to court on the day your case has been 
scheduled, you should first call the other party or that party’s attorney 
and tell that person why you want the trial on another day. The court calls 
these postponements “continuances.”

1.	 If the person you called agrees to have the case continued, you 
must send or fax a written Request for Continuance to the Centralized 
Small Claims office.

2.	 If the other party does not agree to a continuance of the case 
you may still send or fax a written Request for Continuance to the 
Centralized Small Claims office.

3.	 The Request for Continuance must include the reason for the 
continuance, when the notice to the other party was given and whether or 
not the party agreed to the continuance.

4.	 You must send copies of the Request for Continuance to all other 
parties in the case.

5.	 Oral Requests for Continuance requests that are not put in 
writing are only permitted in special circumstances. 

6.	 Requests for Continuance made before the trial date will be 
decided by the clerk. Requests for Continuance made on the day of the 
trial will be decided by the magistrate. If the request is granted, the clerk 
will pick a new date for the trial and notify all the parties in the case.
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Section 5 
THE TRIAL PROCESS
(how the trial works)

What do I do on the day of the trial (hearing)?
1.	 On the day of the trial (hearing), you should be at the courthouse 

before the time the trial will start. You should find out what 
courtroom small claims cases will be heard in, and you should go to 
that courtroom.

2.	 When your name is called, tell the court that you are ready.

3.	 Your case will be given to a magistrate who will swear in all the 
witnesses (require that they promise to tell the truth). A magistrate 
is an attorney who hears and decides small claims cases. Also, 
at some locations, some attorneys have volunteered to act as 
“Commissioners” (hearing officers) to help the court by hearing and 
deciding small claims cases. These attorneys (Commissioners) have 
been approved by the court and, if both parties agree, the case may 
be decided by these attorneys.

4.	 The court may ask you to give your documents to the other party 
and the other party to give you their documents before the court trial.  
You should bring an extra set of copies to the trial.

5.	 All parties in the case will be able to tell the court about their case 
and will be able to ask the other party’s witnesses questions.

How long will I be in court and when will I know the 
court’s decision?
This is hard to know because there may be many trials or only a few 
trials that will be heard by the court on the day of your trial.

You should plan to be in court for 1 to 4 hours.

Unless the court tells you the decision at your trial, the decision will be 
written down and mailed to you.
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Can I appeal if I lose the case?
No. The decisions and judgments of the Small Claims Court are final and 
may not be appealed to a higher court.

See page 12 for more information about transferring a case to the 
regular docket if you want to keep your right to appeal to a higher 
court.

What can I do if a default judgment enters against 
me or if I find new evidence that I did not have for the 
trial?
If there is a default judgment against you, you may file a Motion to Open 
judgment. There is a fee for filing this motion.  As of the date of the 
printing of this booklet, the fee to file a Motion to Open was $75.00.  You 
may contact the Centralized Small Claims office to find out what the fee 
is or you may check “Fees” on the Judicial Branch website at www.jud.
ct.gov. You may get the form for filing a Motion to Open judgment from 
the clerk’s office, the court service center, or the judicial branch website 
at www.jud.ct.gov under “Forms.”  A Motion to Open the judgment may 
be filed at any time after the date of judgment if you are claiming you 
did not get actual notice of the case or within 4 months of the date of the 
judgment for any other reason.  The court may also open any judgment 
decided after you were defaulted at any time within 4 months after the 
date that an execution was made (legal order giving a state marshal or 
other proper officer the right to take defendant’s property). See the next 
section - Collecting the Judgment.
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Section 6
COLLECTING THE JUDGMENT 
(how do you get the money you are owed if you win the case)

A judgment in small claims is good for 10 years; but you may start 
a lawsuit based on the judgment within 15 years after the date of the 
original judgment.

The most important thing to remember is that the court cannot 
collect the money for you. The court hears the case, makes the decision, 
and gives you permission to collect the money you are owed.

If a judgment is made against a person, the court may order that person 
to make periodic (usually weekly) payments to the person who won the 
case.  When this booklet was printed, the minimum weekly order of 
payments (periodic payment) was $35.00. This amount can change. The 
Notice of Judgment form will tell you how much is to be paid to you 
each payment period (usually every week) and when the payments are 
to start. If you feel that the other party is able to make higher payments 
and you have evidence of his or her wages, you may ask the court for an 
increase in the amount of the periodic payments. If you are planning on 
asking for a wage execution (see page 18), you must first have an order 
from the court for periodic payments.

If a judgment is made against a business or a landlord, the court will 
enter judgment for the full amount. No order of periodic payments will 
be made.

What if the person who lost the case and was ordered 
to pay money (judgment debtor) cannot pay the 
periodic payment ordered by the court?
If a party loses a case and is ordered to pay money, they are called 
a judgment debtor.  If the judgment debtor cannot pay the periodic 
payment ordered by the court, that person may ask the court to reduce 
the amount. The judgment debtor will be required to prove his or her 
financial situation to the court before the amount will be reduced.
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How do I collect my judgment if payment is not made 
voluntarily (person who is ordered to pay does not 
pay)?
If payment is not made as ordered by the court, there are several ways 
to collect your judgment. One way is to get an execution (legal hold 
so that the owner cannot sell or use property) to attach wages, personal 
property, or accounts at financial institutions (savings accounts, checking 
accounts and others). You must have an order for periodic payments on 
the judgment before you can get a wage execution. If you did not get an 
order for periodic payments before, you may file a motion for an order 
for periodic payments. If the judgment debtor does not make the periodic 
payments that were ordered, you may ask for a wage execution.

No execution will be issued if the judgment debtor is making the 
periodic payments required by the court.

1.	 A wage execution can be given to you and used against a person 
who has a job if that person is not self-employed. You must find out 
if the debtor has a job and, if the debtor has a job, you must find out 
where he or she works. The court cannot find this out for you.

2.	 A property execution attaches the personal property, not real 
property (such as real estate), to pay the judgment. You must find out 
where the property is. The court  cannot find this out for you.

3.	 Financial Institution executions attach certain accounts at financial 
institutions (for example, banks). You must find out where the 
account is located. The court cannot find this out for you.

You must pay a fee if you want to apply for an execution.  See Section 10 
of this booklet for a list of fees payable in small claims cases. 

How to get an execution (order to hold and turn over 
property of person who owes judgment):
(a)	 To file an application for an execution, you will need all the 
information on the Notice of Judgment form. And you will need a 
correct record of payments made (if any) by the debtor to you up until 
the time you apply for the execution.
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(b) You can get applications for executions online at: www.jud2.ct.gov/
webforms/ or at clerk’s offices and court service centers.

(c) Once an execution is reviewed and signed by the clerk and given back 
to you, you must hire a state marshal or other proper officer to deliver 
(serve) the execution on the debtor. (A list of state marshals is on the 
Judicial Branch website at: http://www.jud.ct.gov/faq/marshals.htm. 
The list may also be viewed at any clerk’s office or court service 
center.) You must give the officer the information he or she will need 
to be able to get the money that you are owed by the debtor. That 
information should include the debtor’s current address, bank, or 
employer. 

Samples of Wage, Financial Institution and Property executions are in 
Section 11 at the end of this booklet.

Can I collect the costs I spent to get the judgment and 
can I collect interest on the judgment from the time 
the judgment was decided?
Yes.  Under the Connecticut General Statutes, the judgment creditor (the 
person who won the case) may collect all costs and statutory fees paid in 
getting the judgment. If the court orders it, interest on the judgment from 
the time the judgment was decided (postjudgment interest) may also be 
collected at a rate of interest also decided by the court.

If postjudgment interest is ordered by the court, it continues to add up 
and increase the amount owed until the debt is paid in full.

If an execution is issued and delivered, and if the court ordered it, the 
amount of postjudgment interest that can be collected will be figured out 
by the officer who delivered the execution.

Satisfaction of the Judgment (payment of the full 
amount)
If the full amount of the judgment is paid to the judgment creditor, he 
or she must file a written Notice of Satisfaction (payment in full) with 
the clerk of the court within 90 days.  The magistrate may, if a motion is 
filed, decide that the judgment has been satisfied (paid).
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Examination (Asking questions) of Judgment Debtor
If an execution has been given back to the court and has not been paid in 
full or if post-judgment interrogatories (questions asked of the judgment 
debtor after judgment) are not answered within 30 days, you may ask 
the court to issue a Petition for Examination of Judgment Debtor and 
a subpoena, requiring the judgment debtor to come to court. This will 
give you a chance to ask the judgment debtor questions under oath about 
the judgment debtor’s property, assets or financial institution accounts. 
If you do not know what to ask the judgment debtor, you may want to 
look at the list of questions in the Postjudgment Remedies Interrogatories 
in Section 11 of this booklet for help. You may get the Petition for 
Examination of Judgment Debtor at the clerk’s office, at a court service 
center, or on the Judicial Branch website at http://www.jud2.ct.gov/
webforms/. (See sample at the end of this booklet in Section 11.)

REMINDER

You do not need an attorney in the Small Claims session but you have to 
follow the proper procedures.

If you are the plaintiff (person who started the case):
Make sure that you fill out your claim form completely and accurately 
and that you are suing the right defendant.  You must serve (deliver) the 
claim on each defendant before filing the claim with the court.

If you are the defendant (person who is being sued):
1.	 You may lose your case if you do not file an answer.

2.	 Your answer must be in writing and must be received by the small 
claims clerk’s office on or before the answer date.  You must send a 
copy of your Answer to each plaintiff.
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 Section 7
Small Claims Area Facility Locations by Town

Town	 	 Facility Town	 	 Facility
Andover	 410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040
Ansonia		 106 Elizabeth Street
		  Derby 06418
Ashford		 120 School Street
		  Danielson 06239
Avon	 	 410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040
Bantam		 80 Doyle Road
		  Bantam 06750
Barkhamsted	 80 Doyle Road
		  Bantam 06750
Beacon Falls	 106 Elizabeth Street
		  Derby 06418
Berlin		  20 Franklin Square
		  New Britain 06051
Bethany		 235 Church Street
		  New Haven 06510
Bethel	 	 146 White Street
		  Danbury 06810
Bethlehem	 80 Doyle Road
		  Bantam 06750
Bloomfield	 410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040
Bolton	 	 410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040
Bozrah		  112 Broad Street
		  New London 06320
Branford	 235 Church Street
		  New Haven 06510
Bridgeport	 172 Golden Hill St.
		  Bridgeport 06604
Bridgewater	 80 Doyle Road
		  Bantam 06750

Bristol		  20 Franklin Square 		
		  New Britain 06051
Brookfield	 146 White Street 		
		  Danbury 06810
Brooklyn	 120 School Street 		
		  Danielson 06239
Burlington	 20 Franklin Square 		
		  New Britain 06051
Canaan		  80 Doyle Road 			 
		  Bantam 06750
Canterbury	 120 School Street 		
		  Danielson 06239
Canton		  410 Center Street 		
		  Manchester 06040
Chaplin		 120 School Street		
		  Danielson 06239
Cheshire	 54 West Main Street 		
		  Meriden 06451

Chester		  1 Court Street 			 
		  Middletown 
		  06457-	 3374
Clinton		  1 Court Street 			 
		  Middletown 
		  06457-3374
Colchester	 112 Broad Street			
		  New London 06320
Colebrook	 80 Doyle Road 
		  Bantam 06750
Columbia	 410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040
Cornwall	 80 Doyle Road 
		  Bantam 06750
Coventry	 410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040

Centralized Small Claims, 80 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106
The Centralized Small Claims office accepts new small claims filings and processes all small claims  
matters. New small claims writs may be filed directly at the central office or at the locations listed below.
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Town	 Facility	 Town	 Facility
Section 7 – Small Claims Area Facility Locations by Town

Cromwell	 1 Court Street 		
		  Middletown 
		  06457-3374
Danbury	 146 White Street 	
		  Danbury 06810
Danielson	 120 School Street
		  Danielson 06239
Darien	 	 123 Hoyt Street 		
		  Stamford 06905
Deep River	 1 Court Street 		
		  Middletown 
		  06457-3374
Derby		  106 Elizabeth Street 	
		  Derby 06418
Durham		 1 Court Street 		
		  Middletown 
		  06457-3374
Eastford		 120 School Street 	
		  Danielson 06239
East Granby	 410 Center Street 	
		  Manchester 06040
East Haddam	 1 Court Street 		
		  Middletown 
		  06457-3374
East Hampton	 1 Court Street 		
		  Middletown 
		  06457-3374
East Hartford	 410 Center Street	
		  Manchester 06040
East Haven	 235 Church Street
		  New Haven 06510
East Lyme	 112 Broad Street
		  New London 06320
Easton		  172 Golden Hill St. 	
		  Bridgeport 06604
East Windsor	 410 Center Street 	
		  Manchester 06040
Ellington 	 410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040

Enfield	 	 410 Center Street 		
		  Manchester 06040
Essex		  1 Court Street 			 
		  Middletown 
		  06457-3374
Fairfield		 172 Golden Hill St. 		
		  Bridgeport 06604
Farmington	 410 Center Street 		
		  Manchester 06040
Franklin		 112 Broad Street 		
		  New London 06320
Glastonbury	 410 Center Street 		
		  Manchester 06040
Goshen		  80 Doyle Road 	
		  Bantam 06750
Granby		  410 Center Street 		
		  Manchester 06040
Greenwich	 123 Hoyt Street 			
		  Stamford 06905
Griswold	 112 Broad Street 		
		  New London 06320
Groton		  112 Broad Street 		
		  New London 06320
Guilford	 235 Church Street
		  New Haven 06510
Haddam		 1 Court Street 			 
		  Middletown 
		  06457-3374
Hamden		 54 West Main Street 		
		  Meriden 06451
Hampton	 120 School Street		
		  Danielson 06239
Hartford	 410 Center Street 		
		  Manchester 06040
Hartland	 80 Doyle Road 	
		  Bantam 06750
Harwinton	 80 Doyle Road 			 
		  Bantam 06750
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Hebron		  410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040
Kent		  80 Doyle Road 		
		  Bantam 06750
Killingly	 120 School Street	
		  Danielson 06239
Killingworth	 1 Court Street 		
		  Middletown 
		  06457-3374
Lebanon	 112 Broad Street 	
		  New London 06320
Ledyard		 112 Broad Street
 		  New London 06320
Lisbon		  112 Broad Street		
		  New London 06320
Litchfield	 80 Doyle Road 		
		  Bantam 06750
Lyme		  112 Broad Street
 		  New London 06320
Madison	 235 Church Street
		  New Haven 06510
Manchester	 410 Center Street 	
		  Manchester 06040
Mansfield	 410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040
Marlborough	 410 Center Street 	
		  Manchester 06040
Meriden	 	 54 West Main Street 	
		  Meriden 06451
Middlebury	 300 Grand Street 	
		  Waterbury 06702
Middlefield	 1 Court Street 		
		  Middletown 
		  06457-3374
Middletown	 1 Court Street 		
		  Middletown 
		  06457-3374
Milford		 14 West River St. 	
		  Milford 06460

Monroe		 172 Golden Hill St.	
		  Bridgeport 06604
Montville	 112 Broad Street		
		  New London 06320
Morris		  80 Doyle Road 		
		  Bantam 06750
Naugatuck	 300 Grand Street 	
		  Waterbury 06702
New Britain	 20 Franklin Square 	
		  New Britain 06051
New Canaan	 17 Belden Avenue 	
		  Norwalk 06850
New Fairfield	 146 White Street 	
		  Danbury 06810
New Hartford	 80 Doyle Road 		
		  Bantam 06750
New Haven	 235 Church Street	
		  New Haven 06510
Newington	 20 Franklin Square 	
		  New Britain 06051
New London	 112 Broad Street 	
		  New London 06320
New Milford	 80 Doyle Road 		
		  Bantam 06750
Newtown	 146 White Street 	
		  Danbury 06810
Norfolk		 80 Doyle Road 		
		  Bantam 06750
North		  235 Church Street 	
Branford	 New Haven 06510
North Canaan	 80 Doyle Road 		
		  Bantam 06750
Northford	 235 Church Street	
		  New Haven 06510
North Haven	 54 West Main Street 	
		  Meriden 06451

Town	 Facility	 Town	 Facility
Section 7 – Small Claims Area Facility Locations by Town
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North 		  112 Broad Street
Stonington	 New London 06320
Norwalk	 17 Belden Avenue 	
		  Norwalk 06850
Norwich	 112 Broad Street 	
		  New London 06320
Old Lyme	 112 Broad Street
		  New London 06320
Old Saybrook	 1 Court Street 		
		  Middletown 
		  06457-3374
Orange	 	 106 Elizabeth Street 	
		  Derby 06418
Oxford	 	 106 Elizabeth Street 	
		  Derby 06418
Plainfield	 120 School Street	
		  Danielson 06239
Plainville	 20 Franklin Square 	
		  New Britain 06051
Plymouth	 20 Franklin Square 	
		  New Britain 06051
Pomfret		 120 School Street	
		  Danielson 06239
Portland		 1 Court Street 		
		  Middletown
		  06457-3374
Preston		  112 Broad Street 	
		  New London 06320
Prospect	 300 Grand Street 	
		  Waterbury 06702
Putnam		  120 School Street	
		  Danielson 06239
Redding		 146 White Street 	
		  Danbury 06810
Ridgefield	 146 White Street 	
		  Danbury 06810
Rockville	 410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040

Rocky Hill	 20 Franklin Square 	
		  New Britain 06051
Roxbury	 80 Doyle Road 
		  Bantam 06750
Salem		  112 Broad Street 	
		  New London 06320
Salisbury	 80 Doyle Road 
		  Bantam 06750
Scotland	 120 School Street	
		  Danielson 06239
Seymour	 106 Elizabeth Street 	
		  Derby 06418
Sharon		  80 Doyle Road 
		  Bantam 06750
Shelton		  106 Elizabeth Street 	
		  Derby 06418
Sherman	 146 White Street 	
		  Danbury 06810
Simsbury	 410 Center Street 	
		  Manchester 06040
Somers		  410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040
Southbury	 300 Grand Street 	
		  Waterbury 06702
Southington	 20 Franklin Square 	
		  New Britain 06051
South 		  410 Center Street 	
Windsor		 Manchester 06040
Sprague		 112 Broad Street		
		  New London 06320
Stafford		 410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040
Stamford	 123 Hoyt Street 		
		  Stamford 06905
Sterling		 120 School Street	
		  Danielson 06239
Stonington	 112 Broad Street 	
		  New London 06320

Town	 Facility	 Town	 Facility
Section 7 – Small Claims Area Facility Locations by Town
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Stratford	 172 Golden Hill St. 	
		  Bridgeport 06604
Suffield		 410 Center Street 	
		  Manchester 06040
Thomaston	 80 Doyle Road
		  Bantam 06750
Thompson	 120 School Street	
		  Danielson 06239
Tolland 		 410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040
Torrington	 80 Doyle Road
	  	 Bantam 06750
Trumbull	 172 Golden Hill St. 	
		  Bridgeport 06604
Union		  410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040
Vernon		  410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040
Voluntown	 112 Broad Street		
		  New London 06320
Wallingford	 54 West Main Street 	
		  Meriden 06451
Warren	 	 80 Doyle Road 		
		  Bantam 06750
Washington	 80 Doyle Road 		
		  Bantam 06750
Waterbury	 300 Grand Street 	
		  Waterbury 06702
Waterford	 112 Broad Street 	
		  New London 06320
Watertown	 300 Grand Street 	
		  Waterbury 06702
Westbrook	 1 Court Street 		
		  Middletown 
		  06457-3374
West Hartford	 410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040 	

West Haven	 14 West River Street 	
		  Milford 06460
Weston	 	 17 Belden Avenue 	
		  Norwalk 06850
Westport	 17 Belden Avenue 	
		  Norwalk 06850
Wethersfield	 20 Franklin Square 	
		  New Britain 06051
Willimantic	 120 School Street	
		  Danielson 06239
Willington	 410 Center Street
		  Manchester 06040
Wilton	 	 17 Belden Avenue 	
		  Norwalk 06850
Winchester	 80 Doyle Road 		
		  Bantam 06750
Windham	 120 School Street	
		  Danielson 06239
Windsor	410 	 Center Street 		
		  Manchester 06040
Windsor 	 410 Center Street 	
Locks		  Manchester 06040
Winsted		 80 Doyle Road 		
		  Bantam 06750
Wolcott		 300 Grand Street 	
		  Waterbury 06702
Woodbridge	 235 Church Street 
		  New Haven 06510
Woodbury	 300 Grand Street 	
		  Waterbury 06702
Woodstock	 120 School Street 	
		  Danielson 06239

Town	 Facility	 Town	 Facility
Section 7 – Small Claims Area Facility Locations by Town
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Section 8
Small Claims Area Locations and Telephone Numbers

Clerk, Geographical Area 22 
Small Claims Area at Milford 
14 West River Street 
Milford, CT  06460 
203-874-1116

Clerk, Geographical Area 3 
Small Claims Area at Danbury 
146 White Street 
Danbury, CT  06810 
203-207-8600

Clerk, Geographical Area 2
Small Claims Area at Bridgeport 
172 Golden Hill Street 
Bridgeport, CT  06604
203-579-6562

Clerk, Geographical Area 5 
Small Claims Area at Derby 
106 Elizabeth Street 
Derby, CT  06418 
203-735-9654

Clerk, Geographical Area 18 
Small Claims Area at Bantam 
80 Doyle Road 
Bantam, CT  06750
860-567-3942

Chief Clerk, Middlesex JD 
Small Claims Area at Middletown 
1 Court Street – 2nd floor 
Middletown, CT  06457-337 
860-343-6477

Chief Clerk, New Britain JD
Small Claims Area at New Britain 
20 Franklin Square – 2nd floor 
New Britain, CT  06051 
860-515-5210

Chief Clerk, New Haven JD
Small Claims Area at New Haven 
235 Church Street 
New Haven, CT  06510 
203-503-6800

Clerk, Geographical Area 7 
Small Claims Area at Meriden 
54 West Main Street 
Meriden, CT  06451 
203-238-6130

Clerk, Geographical Area 10 
Small Claims Area at New London 
112 Broad Street
New London, CT  06320 
860-443-8346

Centralized Small Claims 
80 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106
860-756-7800 in Hartford area or 1-866-383-5927 toll free
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Clerk, Geographical Area 11 
Small Claims Area at Danielson
120 School Street 
Danielson, CT  06239
860-779-8484 

Chief Clerk, Waterbury JD 
Small Claims Area at  
Waterbury 
300 Grand Street 
Waterbury, CT  06702 
203-591-3320

Clerk, Geographical Area 12 
Small Claims Area at Manchester 
410 Center Street 
Manchester, CT  06040 
860-647-1091

Clerk, Geographical Area 1 
Small Claims Area at Stamford 
123 Hoyt Street 
Stamford, CT  06905 
203-965-5308 

Clerk, Geographical Area 20 
Small Claims Area at Norwalk 
17 Belden Avenue 
Norwalk, CT  06850 
203-846-4206

Section 8 – Small Claims Area Locations and Telephone Numbers
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Section 9
Superior Court Housing Sessions by District

Fairfield Judicial District
Bridgeport Housing Session
(Serving the towns of Bridgeport, Easton, Fairfield, Monroe, Stratford 
and Trumbull.)

Superior Court-Housing Session		 (203) 579-6936
1061 Main Street
Bridgeport, CT 06604

Hartford Judicial District
Hartford Housing Session
(Serving the towns of Avon, Bloomfield, Canton, East Granby, East 
Hartford, East Windsor, Enfield, Farmington, Glastonbury ,Granby, 
Hartford, Manchester, Marlborough, Newington, Rocky Hill, Simsbury, 
South Windsor, Suffield, West Hartford, Wethersfield, Windsor and 
Windsor Locks.)

Superior Court-Housing Session		 (860) 756-7920
80 Washington Street
Hartford, CT 06106

New Britain Judicial District
New Britain Housing Session
(Serving the towns of Avon, Berlin, Bristol, Burlington, Canton, 
Farmington, New Britain, Newington, Plainville, Plymouth, Rocky Hill, 
Simsbury, Southington and Wethersfield.)

Superior Court-Housing Session		 (860) 515-5130
20 Franklin Square
New Britain, CT 06051
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New Haven/Meriden Judicial District
New Haven Housing Session
(Serving the towns of Bethany, Branford, Cheshire, East Haven, 
Guilford, Hamden, Madison, Meriden, Milford, New Haven, North 
Branford, North Haven, Orange, Wallingford, West Haven and 
Woodbridge.)

Superior Court-Housing Session		 (203) 789-7937
121 Elm Street
New Haven, CT 06510

Superior Court-Housing Session		 (203) 238-6667
54 West Main Street
Meriden, CT 06451

Stamford/Norwalk Judicial District
Norwalk Housing Session
(Serving the towns of Darien, Greenwich, New Canaan, Norwalk, 
Stamford, Weston, Westport and Wilton.)

Superior Court-Housing Session		 (203) 846-4332
17 Belden Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06850

Waterbury Judicial District
Waterbury Housing Session
(Serving the towns of Middlebury, Naugatuck, Plymouth, Prospect, 
Southbury, Waterbury, Watertown, Wolcott and Woodbury.)

Superior Court-Housing Session		 (203) 591-3310
300 Grand Street
Waterbury, CT 06702
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Section 10
Fees Payable to the Clerk in Small Claims Cases

These fees were correct on the date this booklet was printed but may 
change. Please contact your local Small Claims clerk’s office for the 
correct fees.

Filing (entry) fee. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       $75.00

Motion to Transfer to the Regular Docket . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  $125.00

Application for Execution. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                $75.00

Jury Claim Fee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       $425.00

Motion to Open Judgment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               $75.00

Photocopies (per page). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   $1.00

Certification of Document. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 $2.00

Personal Checks are acceptable with the following restrictions:

1. �Check must be made payable to the “Clerk of the Superior Court;” 
third party checks are not acceptable;

2. �Check must be preprinted with the current name of payer;

3. �Check amount is not to exceed $5,000.00 per check.

4. �Photo ID or photo driver’s license is required as proof of identity;

5. �A check drawn on a bank of a foreign country other than Canada shall 
not be accepted. Funds must be made payable in U.S. funds; and,

6. �No checks are to be cashed.
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Section 11
Forms

JD-CV-40:  Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit

JD-CV-122:  How to Serve (Deliver to Defendant)  
a Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit 

JD-CV-123:  Statement of Service - (Delivery) Small Claims

JD-CV-121:  Instructions to Defendant - (Notice to Person Being Sued) 

JD-CV-70:  Withdrawal – Small Claims and Housing Matters 
Motion to Transfer to the Regular Docket 
Affidavit in Support of Motion

JD-CL-43:  Subpoena/Civil

JD-CV-51:  Motion to Open Judgment

JD-CV-23:  Post Judgment Remedies Interrogatories

JD-CV-23a:  Interrogatories

JD-CV-3:  Wage Execution Proceedings - Application, Order, Execution

JD-CV-3a:  Exemption and Modification Claim Form, Wage Execution

JD-CV-5: Property Execution Proceedings -  
Application, Order, Execution 

JD-CV-5b:  Exemption Claim Form, Property Execution 

JD-CV-24:  Financial Institution Execution Proceedings –  
Judgment Debtor Who is a Natural Person, Application and Execution 

JD-CV-24A:  Exemption Claim Form, Financial Institution Execution 

JD-CV-24N:  Financial Institution Execution Proceedings – Judgment 
Debtor Who is NOT a Natural Person, Application and Execution

JD-CV-54:  Petition for Examination of  
Judgment Debtor and Notice of Hearing
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Name, address and zip code of Defendant #26.) Name, address and zip code of Defendant #1

5.) Name, address and zip code of Attorney for Plaintiff(s)

("X" One)

("X" One)

4.) Name, address and zip code of Plaintiff #1

("X" One)

Name, address and zip code of Plaintiff #2

("X" One)

P 
L 
T 
F 
  
# 
1

D 
E 
F 
  
# 
1

CONNECTICUT SUPERIOR COURT 
SMALL CLAIMS SESSION

SMALL CLAIMS WRIT 
AND NOTICE OF SUIT
JD-CV-40  Rev. 1-11 
C.G.S. §§ 51-15, 51-345(g)

For Court Use Only 
Do Not Write In This Space 

Barcode Label Only

P 
L 
T 
F 
  
# 
2

D 
E 
F 
  
# 
2

Type or print legibly. This Writ and Notice of Suit must be served on (delivered 
to) the defendant(s) before filing it with the court. See Instructions to Plaintiff on 
reverse.

7.) If this claim is a consumer debt (a debt or obligation made primarily for personal, family or household reasons), give the reasons why you believe that the statute of limitations 
has not expired.

1.) Information that will determine where the trial will be

Telephone number (w/area code) LLC Partnership
Individual Corporation

Telephone number (w/area code) LLC Partnership
Individual Corporation

Attorney's Juris number Telephone number (w/area code)

Telephone number  (w/area code) Partnership

Individual Corporation

Telephone number (w/area code)

Individual

2.) Is this a claim between a landlord and a renter? ("X" one) 
3.) If you answered "yes" to question #2 above, state the town 
     where the rental premises is located: 

Yes No

DBA DBA

LLC

DBA

LLC

DBA

Partnership
Corporation

For more than 2 defendants, attach Continuation of Parties, Form JD-CV-67, and "X" box.

8.) How did you check in the last 6 months that the address given for defendant(s) is accurate? "X" all boxes that apply and provide the dates that the address was checked.

1) I checked town or city records (for example, checking a street list or tax records);

2) I checked with the Department of Motor Vehicles;

3) I received correspondence (letters or other mail) from the defendant with that return address;

4) I received other proof from the defendant that the address is current;

5) I mailed by first class mail, at least 4 weeks before this small claims action was filed, a letter to the defendant at the     
address used and the letter has not been returned to me by the United States Postal Service.

(date checked)

(date checked)

(date checked)

9.) Amount claimed

Plus costs

10.) You are being sued. The Plaintiff(s) claims you owe the above amount for the following reasons:

11.) Signed Type in name of person signing at left and title, if applicable

Signed (Clerk, Notary, Commissioner of Superior Court)Subscribed and sworn to before me on (Date)

For Court Use Only (Date/Stamp)

Distribution:             Original  -  Court                     Copy 1  -  Defendant                     Copy 2  -  Defendant                     Copy 3  -  Plaintiff

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact a court clerk 
or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA/.

(description of proof 
 and date checked)

The person signing below, being duly sworn, states that he or she has read the claim above and the information contained in this form and, to the best of his or her knowledge, 
information and belief, there is good ground to support the claim and the information is true.

(date checked)
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The "Small Claims Court" is a part of Connecticut's court system 
where a person can sue for money damages only up to $5,000.00. 
That amount is set by state law and may change from time to time. 
You may also be able to get interest and costs. The only time that a 
person can sue for more than the $5,000.00 limit is in a lawsuit to 
have a landlord return a security deposit in a landlord-tenant matter. 
In that kind of case only, a person can sue for double the amount of 
the security deposit, plus interest that has been added to the 
amount, even if the doubled amount brings the claim over the 
$5,000.00 limit. The small claims court does not hear libel and 
slander cases. 

The instructions below are numbered. The numbers are the same 
as the numbered sections of the SMALL CLAIMS WRIT AND 
NOTICE OF SUIT (form JD-CV-40). These instructions are to help 
you correctly fill out each section of the Small Claims Writ and 
Notice of Suit. For more information, get a copy of HOW SMALL 
CLAIMS COURT WORKS (form JDP-CV-45) from the Clerk's Office 
or from our website at www.jud.ct.gov/faq/smallclaims.html. 

Note: Unless you are hiring a state marshal to deliver (serve) the 
Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit for you, you must deliver a 
copy of the completed original Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit 
to each defendant with the "Instructions to Defendant" form          
JD-CV-121, before filing those documents with the court. See "How 
to Serve (Deliver to Defendant) a Small Claim Writ and Notice of 
Suit" form for instructions. You must deliver a copy of all the 
documents you want to file with the court, for example, all 
attachments to the original writ must be delivered. After all of those 
documents have been delivered, file the original documents with 
the court, with the appropriate entry fee and "Statement of Service", 
form JD-CV-123, for each defendant. Keep a copy for your records. 

1. Information That Will Determine Where The Trial Will Be 
The information you give will determine where the trial will 
be if the information complies with the statutes. If this 
portion of the form is not filled out, the location of the trial 
will be determined as described below. 
If you are an Individual Plaintiff, choose one of the following and 
enter the town where (a) the plaintiff lives, (b) the defendant lives 
or the defendant's business is located or (c) the transaction or 
injury occurred. If you do not give any information, the town 
where you live will determine the place of the trial. 
If you are a Business Entity, including a domestic corporation, 
United States corporation or a limited liability company; choose 
one of the following and enter the town where (a) the defendant 
lives, (b) the defendant is doing business or (c) the transaction or 
injury occurred. If you do not give any information, the town 
where the defendant lives will determine the place of the 
trial. 
An out-of-state individual defendant must own real or personal 
property in Connecticut to be sued in small claims court. That 
must be stated in the writ. 
In matters involving a landlord and a renter (tenant), enter the 
town in which the rental property are located. The location of the 
rental property will determine where the trial will be held. (Note: If, 
however, the defendant now resides out-of-state, the small 
claims rules may not apply.) 
For more information, see the Connecticut General Statutes or 
the Connecticut Practice Book. 

2. Claim Between Landlord And Renter (Tenant) 
If the claim is between a landlord and a renter (tenant), "X" the 
box for yes. If not, "X" the box for no. 

3.   Rental Property Location 
Write the name of the town where the rental property is located. 

4.   Plaintiff(s) 
The plaintiff is the person filing the claim (suing the other party). 
If there is more than 1 person, use 1 box for each plaintiff. For 
more than 2 plaintiffs, use the Continuation of Parties form,   
JD-CV-67. Enter the complete and correct legal name, address, 
and telephone number of each plaintiff. For each plaintiff,       
"X" the box for the type of plaintiff filing. 

5.   Attorney Information 
To be filled out by attorney only if representing the plaintiff. 

6.   Defendant(s) 
The defendant is the person you are suing. If you are suing 
more than 1 person, use 1 box for each defendant. For more 
than 2 defendants, use the Continuation of Parties form,        
JD-CV-67. Enter the complete and correct legal name, address, 
and telephone number of each defendant. For each defendant, 
"X" the box for the type of defendant being sued. Special Note: 
The name of the person or business you are suing must be 
exact. If you make a mistake and list the wrong name, or leave 
out any part of any name, you may not get your money. 

7.   Statute Of Limitations 
A statute of limitations is a time limit on how long you have to 
start a case. This time limit is different for each type of case. 
Most statutes of limitations can be found in Chapter 926 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. You must give the reasons why 
you believe that the statute of limitations time period has not run 
out if the claim is a consumer debt which is a debt or obligation 
made primarily for personal, family or household reasons. See 
Section 52-350a(2) of the Connecticut General Statutes. 

8.   Address Verification 
Check all boxes that apply showing how you know the address 
you give for each the defendant is accurate and provide the 
date you checked the addresses. 

9.   Amount Claimed 
Enter the amount of money you are claiming. The amount may 
not be more than the statutory limit for small claims matters, 
unless the amount over the limit is for interest or costs, or is for 
the doubling of a security deposit in a landlord-tenant matter. 
Do not include the filing fee. 

10. Reason For Claim 
Give a clear, brief description of the nature of the case. You 
may attach pages if you need to. The claim must be for money 
damages only. Interest charges and costs that bring the amount 
over the limit should be listed separately here. 

11. Signature And Oath 
Your signature must be notarized. You must sign the claim in 
front of the person who is notarizing it. You must also print your 
name clearly and your title, if you have a title, in the box 
provided. Your oath must be taken at the time you sign the 
claim and the person who took your oath (the Clerk, a Notary, or 
a Commissioner of the Superior Court) must also sign. 
Attorneys are Commissioners of the Superior Court. 

12. Keep A Copy Of All Documents For Your Records.

Instructions to Plaintiff
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The person or business filing a lawsuit is the plaintiff. The plaintiff, or his or her representative, 
must serve (deliver) the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit separately on each defendant using 
1 of the 4 methods listed below, except that for each defendant who is an out-of-state business  
(a business organized under the laws of a state other than Connecticut), the plaintiff must pay a 
proper officer to serve the defendant as described in number 4. There are special requirements 
for service on (delivery to) out-of-state insurance companies. The requirements are in Chapter 
697, Title 38a of the Connecticut General Statutes and you may find information on the 
Connecticut Insurance Department website at: www.ct.gov/cid.

1. By priority mail with delivery confirmation: fill out a Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, 
JD-CV-40, and attach any related documents you wish to file with the Writ; keep the original 
Writ and documents and mail a copy of the Writ and documents, and the Instructions to 
Defendant, form JD-CV-121, to each defendant. When you have the delivery confirmation(s), 
file the original Writ and documents, a Statement of Service, JD-CV-123, for each defendant, 
and the delivery confirmation(s) with the court.

JD-CV-122   New 1-11

HOW TO SERVE (DELIVER TO DEFENDANT)  
A SMALL CLAIMS WRIT AND NOTICE OF SUIT

2. By certified mail, return receipt requested: fill out a Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, 
JD-CV-40, and attach any related documents you wish to file with the Writ; keep the original 
Writ and documents and mail a copy of the Writ and documents, and the Instructions to 
Defendant, form JD-CV-121, to each defendant. When you receive the signed return receipt(s), 
file the original Writ and documents, a Statement of Service, JD-CV-123, for each defendant, 
and the signed return receipt(s) with the court.

3. By a nationally recognized courier service providing delivery confirmation: fill out a 
Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, JD-CV-40, and attach any related documents you wish 
to file with the Writ; keep the original Writ and documents and have a copy of the Writ and 
documents, and the Instructions to Defendant, form JD-CV-121, delivered to each defendant. 
When you receive the tracking information showing delivery, file the original Writ and 
documents, a Statement of Service, JD-CV-123, for each defendant, and the delivery 
confirmation(s) with the court.

4. By a proper officer, for example, a marshal: fill out a Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, 
JD-CV-40, and attach any related documents you wish to file with the Writ; keep a copy of 
the Writ and documents; give the original Writ and documents, and the Instructions to 
Defendant, form JD-CV-121, to the officer to serve (deliver); after the officer serves (delivers) 
the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, he or she will file the original Writ and documents 
with the court along with his or her return of service (a written statement describing how the 
writ was served).

The Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit must be returned to the court not later than 1 month 
after the date of service.

When the clerk receives the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, the clerk will set an answer date 
and will send a notice to all plaintiffs or their representatives of the docket number and answer 
date. The clerk will also send an answer form that includes the docket number and answer date to 
each defendant at the addresses provided by the plaintiff.

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact a court 
clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA/.
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STATEMENT OF SERVICE — (DELIVERY) 
SMALL CLAIMS
JD-CV-123 New 1-11

Instructions 
Fill out 1 form for each defendant. Attach all documents that show how the Small Claims Writ and 
Notice of Suit and related documents were served on (delivered to) the defendant, and check the box 
below that applies. Keep all receipts that show how much you paid to have the Small Claims Writ and 
Notice of Suit and related documents served on (delivered to) the defendant.

For service on (delivery to) the Defendant:

(Write name of Defendant)

The attached Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit with related documents, if any, were served on 
(delivered to) the defendant named above by:

(Check the box that applies)

1.) priority mail with delivery confirmation; delivery confirmation is attached. I paid $ for this, or

2.) certified mail, return receipt requested; signed return receipt is attached. I paid $ for this, or

3.) a nationally recognized courier service providing delivery confirmation; tracking information showing delivery

for this, or

4.) a proper officer in the manner in which a writ of summons is served in a civil action; officer's return of service

Signature of Plaintiff or Plaintiff's Representative

Type or print name of signer Date
Plaintiff Plaintiff's representative

(Check one)

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact a court 
clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA/.

is attached. I paid $

filed with the court.
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For more information, get a copy of HOW SMALL CLAIMS COURT WORKS (form JDP-CV-45) from the Clerk's Office 
or from our website at www.jud.ct.gov/faq/smallclaims.html.

JD-CV-121 New 1-11

INSTRUCTIONS TO DEFENDANT 
(NOTICE TO PERSON BEING SUED)

Please read the instructions carefully.

What Do I Have To Do To Defend This Case?

The person suing you (the Plaintiff) delivered to you (served you with) a copy of the Small Claims Writ and Notice of 
Suit and related documents, if any. After serving you, the plaintiff will file the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit and 
related documents with the court. The court will send an Answer form to you with the number the court assigns to the 
case, called the "docket number" of the case, and the date you must file your Answer by. This should happen soon but 
could be up to 6 weeks depending on when the plaintiff files the case with the court. 
  
The Answer is your response or reply to the claim by the plaintiff. Your Answer should be brief but specific. Fill out the 
entire Answer form and sign it. Keep a copy for yourself and send a copy to each attorney or other representative of the 
plaintiff, or if the plaintiff is representing himself or herself, to the plaintiff. Send the original Answer form to the court by 
mail, fax or hand delivery at the address or fax number shown below on or before the answer date. Please be sure to 
give us any change of your address. 
  
Do not answer until you get the Answer form from the court but if you do not get an Answer form within 6 weeks of 
being served, contact the court to ask why. If you do not file an Answer in writing with the court, a money judgment 
could enter against you. This is called a default judgment. 
  
You may make an agreement with the plaintiff before the plaintiff files the lawsuit in court or at any time before the court 
enters a judgment. You may hire a lawyer to represent you if you want to. 
  
You can find helpful information on our website at: http://www.jud.ct.gov/faq/smallclaims.html and you may check the 
status of your case after it has been given a docket number at: http://www.jud2.ct.gov/Small_Claims/. 
  
If you have any questions, you can visit or call the Centralized Small Claims Office at 80 Washington Street, Hartford, 
CT 06106. The telephone number in the Hartford area is 860-756-7800. The toll free telephone number in Connecticut 
is 866-383-5927. The fax number is (860) 756-7805. 
  
You do not need an attorney even if the plaintiff has one. However, you can have an attorney if you want to hire one. 
  
If you want to use the regular rules of court in this case or if you want the right to appeal this case, you must file a 
motion to transfer the case to the regular civil or housing docket of the superior court. You may need an attorney to 
help you in filing that motion and you will have to pay fees to file it. The motion to transfer must be filed, in writing, with 
an affidavit and with the correct fees, on or before the answer date. 
  
What Happens If I Do Not File An Answer? 
If you do not file an Answer, the file will be reviewed by a magistrate who will decide whether a judgment can enter 
without a hearing for the full amount of the claim plus court costs, or whether the case needs to be set down for a trial. 
  
What Happens If I File An Answer? 
Do not go to court on the answer date. After the court receives your Answer, a trial will be scheduled if one is 
required. Cases are scheduled for trial as quickly as possible. 
  
What Should I Do If The Plaintiff Owes Me Money? 
If you claim the plaintiff owes you money, this is called a counterclaim. Explain how much the plaintiff owes you and 
why in the counterclaim section of the Answer form.
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What If I Know I Owe The Plaintiff Some Money? 
If you think you owe the plaintiff something, but you do not agree with the amount the plaintiff is asking for or you are 
not sure how much you owe the plaintiff, you should file a written Answer. This gives you a chance to come to court for 
a trial to question how the plaintiff added up the amount claimed. 
  
What Should I Do If I Admit That I Owe The Plaintiff The Whole Amount? 
If you are sure that you owe the whole amount but you want time to pay, you must file an Answer not later than the 
Answer date, stating that you want time to pay the claim and why you are asking for the extra time to pay. You may 
ask for a period of time during which you can make payments that you suggest. If you do not, and you are an 
individual, the court will enter a judgment with an order of payments of $35.00 each week until the judgment is paid. If 
you ask to pay less than $35.00 per week and the plaintiff does not agree, a trial will be scheduled. 
  
A judgment against a business entity, for example, a corporation, or a judgment against a landlord for return of a 
security deposit, will be ordered paid in the full amount. This will be entered as a judgment of the court. 
  
If you pay the plaintiff/plaintiff's attorney the full amount owed plus costs, if any, before the answer date, tell the court 
on the Answer form. Do not send payment(s) to the court. 
  
Where And When Do I Have To Go To Court? 
If a trial is required, you will be sent a notice of the date, time and place of the trial. Even if you filed an Answer or a 
request for time to pay, the court can enter a judgment against you if you do not come to court on the date and time set 
for the trial. 
  
What Do I Need To Bring To Court? 
On the day of the trial, you must bring all your witnesses and evidence (bills, invoices, checks) to court with you. This 
includes any defective or damaged goods that can be brought to court safely and easily, estimates of damages, 
pictures, and anything else that you want the court to look at. Be complete and organized in your case. A small claims 
judgment cannot be appealed.

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact a court 
clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA/.
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Name of case (First-named Plaintiff vs. first-named Defendant)

The Plaintiff's action is withdrawn against defendant(s)
and no costs will be paid.

Housing
Session at:

Judicial
District at:

WITHDRAWAL
SMALL CLAIMS AND
HOUSING MATTERS
JD-CV-70  Rev. 11-09

Return date

Docket number

I certify that a copy was mailed or delivered to all
counsel and self-represented parties of record on:

Signed (Individual attorney or self-represented party)

* If necessary, attach additional sheet with names of each party copy was mailed or delivered to and address copy was
mailed or delivered to.

Date

("x" All that apply)

Geographical
Area

Address copy was mailed or delivered to*Name of each party copy was mailed or delivered to*

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
SUPERIOR COURT

www.jud.ct.gov

Answer date

Small
Claims at: 

The Plaintiff's action is withdrawn against all defendants and no costs will be paid to any party.

only,

Complaint

The:

Counterclaim

Cross complaint

in the action named above is withdrawn.
Signed (Plaintiff/Plaintiff's attorney)

Signed (Defendant/Defendant's attorney)

Name, address and telephone number of person signing above

WITHDRAWAL - SMALL CLAIMS AND HOUSING MATTERS

For Court Use Only

Signature
Required

Certification
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MOTION TO TRANSFER TO THE REGULAR DOCKET
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SUBPOENA/CIVIL

1. Do Not use this subpoena if the witness is being
    summoned by the state or by the attorney general or an
    assistant attorney general or by any public defender or 
    assistant public defender acting in his/her official capacity.

Docket NumberName of Case

Hereof Fail Not, Under Penalty Of The Law.
To any proper officer or indifferent person to serve and return.

Name of person requesting subpoena

To: (Name and address)

Signed (Clerk, Commissioner of Superior Court)

If you do not come to court on the day and at the time stated, or on the day and at the time which your appearance may have been
postponed or continued to by order of an officer of the court, the court may order that you be arrested. Also, if one day's attendance and
traveling fees have been paid to you and you do not come to court and testify, without reasonable excuse, you will be fined not more than
$25.00 (twenty-five dollars) and pay all damages to the aggrieved party. The party requesting the subpoena is responsible for
paying the witness fees.

Any questions regarding this subpoena should be directed to the person who requested it.

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a
reasonable accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact the clerk of the court at the Address of Court shown above.

Total

Telephone number

Judicial District of Date

Copy

SUBISSU
Court Use Only

Housing
Session

Judicial
District

Geographical
Area
Number

Date and time you are to appear
Time

Report to

Person requesting subpoena
Courtroom number

By Authority of The State of Connecticut, you are commanded to come to the court at the Address of Court above on the
Date and Time indicated above or to another day after (within 60 days of the Date indicated above) when the case will be
tried; you must come to the court to testify what you know in the case.

You Are Further Commanded To Bring With You And Produce:

Notice To The Person Summoned

Return Of Service

Attest (Signature of proper officer or indifferent person) Title (If applicable)

ss.

FeesThen and there I made service of the within subpoena not less than eighteen hours prior to 
the time designated for the person summoned to appear, by reading the same in the presence 
and hearing/leaving a true and attested copy hereof in the hands/at the last usual place of 
abode of each of the within-named persons, viz: Endorsement

Service

Travel (Show miles & amount)

Distribution:             Original - Return to clerk after making service                 Copy 1 - Witness               Copy 2 - Court file

Address of Court (Number, street and town)

JD-CL-43   Rev. 3-09
C.G.S. § 52-143, 52-144
Pr. Bk. Secs. 7-19, 24-22

 . m.
Clerk's office

Small
Claims Area

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
SUPERIOR COURT

www.jud.ct.gov

Date At

Instructions:
2. The person being subpoenaed and the items they are
    ordered to bring as listed below must be identical to the
    names and items as ordered on the Application for
    Issuance of Subpoena, form JD-CV-62.

Print or type name

Telephone number:
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�

MOTION TO OPEN JUDGMENT

Time

.m.

By the Court  (Name of Judge/Magistrate) Date signed 

Housing 
Session

Judicial 
District

MOTION TO OPEN JUDGMENT 
(SMALL CLAIMS AND 
HOUSING MATTERS)
JD-CV-51 Rev. 1-11 
C.G.S. 52-212, 52-212a,  52-259c 
Pr.Bk. Secs. 17-4, 17-43, 24-31

Signed  (Assistant Clerk)

I request that the judgment in the case named above be opened because:

(Name and address of plaintiff or plaintiff's attorney)

(Name and address of defendant or defendant's attorney)

Motion To Open Judgment

Signed  (Plaintiff/Defendant or Attorney)

Signed  (Clerk, Comm. of Superior Court)

Notice Of Court Hearing
A court hearing on this case has been scheduled.  All parties must come to the hearing at the address and time indicated below. If you 
cannot come to the hearing, you should let the other party know and get an agreement before you notify the court that you cannot come to 
the hearing. (If you have any witnesses, please let them know about this court hearing so that they can be in court with you. Bring all other evidence you want to show 
the court, such as bills, receipts, invoices, etc. If this motion is granted, a trial on the case may start the same day.)

Order  (For Court Use Only)
This motion to open judgment is ordered:

Granted Denied,  which means that the judgment/decree in the case named above is still in effect.

Geographical 
Area 
Number 

NOTICE:  This motion must be filed with the correct fee required by section 52-259c(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes.

, M.
, J.

Small 
Claims Area

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

GW
Court Use Only

Docket number

Address of Court  (Number, street, town, and zip code)

Name of case  (Plaintiff vs. Defendant)

Date signed

Subscribed and sworn to before me on  (Date)

Place of hearing  (If different from Address of Court above) Date of hearing Courtroom

Clerk of Court, by

Date

*GW*

I certify that a copy of this document was mailed or delivered electronically or non-electronically to all attorneys and self-represented parties 
of record on             and that written consent for electronic delivery was received from all attorneys and self-represented 
parties receiving electronic delivery.

*If necessary, attach additional sheet or sheets with name and address which the copy was mailed or delivered to.

Certification

Signed (Individual attorney or self-represented party) 

�

Name and address of each party and attorney that copy was mailed or delivered to*

Print or type name of person signing
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(Continued on page 2)

POST JUDGMENT REMEDIES 
INTERROGATORIES
JD-CV-23 Rev. 11-10 
Gen. Stat. §§ 52-321a, 52-351b, 52-352b,  
52-361a, 52-361b, 52-400a, 52-400c

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

Notice

Notice Of Rights To Person Served

Form JD-CV-23a must be attached to this form

1.   Under Section 52-351b of the General Statutes, you must disclose information about the amount, nature and location of 
the judgment debtor's assets up to an amount clearly enough in value for full satisfaction of the judgment with interest and 
costs. 

2.   Under subsection (d) of Section 52-351b of the General Statutes, any party who must disclose information about the 
judgment debtor's  assets may apply to the court to be protected from annoyance, embarrassment, oppression or undue 
burden or expense. 

3.   Certain personal property of the judgment debtor is exempt from execution (cannot be used to satisfy judgment). The 
following list is a description of common types of property that are exempt from execution from a judgment debtor who is 
a natural person. (Section 52-352b of the General Statutes). 

(a)  Apparel, bedding, foodstuffs, household furniture and appliances that are needed by the judgment debtor to live; 
(b)  Tools, books, instruments, farm animals and livestock feed that are needed by the judgment debtor in the course 

of his or her occupation, or profession, farming operation or farming partnership; 
(c)  Public assistance payments and any wages earned by a public assistance recipient under an incentive earnings 

or similar program;

Housing 
Session

Geographical 
Area 
number

Judicial 
District At

Judgment Creditor:  
Put an "X" in the box next to the questions to be answered on form JD-CV-23a that is attached to this form. 
Person who received interrogatories:  
Answer the questions indicated by an "X" on form JD-CV-23a that is attached to this form. You must give information that you have about the assets of the 
judgment debtor up to an amount clear enough to satisfy the judgment indicated by the "Amount due on the judgment" above. Place your answers in the 
space provided on the form. If you need more space to answer the questions, use the space on the back of form JD-CV-23a or attach additional sheets to 
this form.

Instructions To:

Do not file the interrogatories, the notice of interrogatories or the objections to the interrogatories with the court. 
The person who received these interrogatories must answer and return them within 30 days of the date of their service 
(delivery) to the person named above. 

If the person who received these interrogatories does not answer and return them within 30 days or does not within 30 days 
disclose assets of the judgment debtor that are enough for execution, or if the person who received the interrogatories objects 
within 30 days, the judgment creditor may ask the court for additional discovery orders that may be necessary to make sure 
that disclosure is made including (1) an order for compliance with the interrogatories or (2) an order authorizing additional 
interrogatories. The judgment creditor may ask for and get discovery, including the taking of depositions, from any person 
served with interrogatories under the procedures for discovery in civil actions without the court ordering it. The court may 
order additional discovery as justice requires. If the person asked for discovery does not disclose the judgment debtor's 
assets, that person may be held in contempt of court. Attorney's fees may be allowed for counsel at a contempt hearing 
necessary to enforce a court order and for counsel at any discovery hearing required because these interrogatories were not 
answered.

Docket number

Address of court (Number, street, town, and zip code)

Date of judgment Original amount of judgment Amount due on the judgment

Name of creditor (Person or business judgment is for) Address of judgment creditor (Street and town)

Name of judgment debtor (Person or business judgment is against) Address of judgment debtor  (Street and town)

Name and address of person believed to have assets of judgment debtor (If applicable)

Date interrogatories were served (Delivered) Name and address of person that interrogatories must be returned to
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(d)  Health and disability insurance payments; 
(e)  Health aids that are needed by the judgment debtor to work or to keep healthy; 
(f)   Worker's compensation, social security, veterans and unemployment benefits; 
(g)  Court approved payments for child support; 
(h)  Arms (weapons) and military equipment, uniforms or musical instruments owned by any member of the militia or 

armed forces of the United States; 
(i)   One motor vehicle worth up to $3,500.00. The value of the motor vehicle must be determined as the fair market 

value of the motor vehicle minus the amount of all liens and security interests which are on it; 
(j)   Wedding and engagement rings; 
(k)  Residential utility deposits for one residence and one residential security deposit; 
(l)   Any assets or interests of a judgment debtor in, or payments received by the judgment debtor from, a plan or 

arrangement described in Section 52-321a of the General Statutes, including, but not limited to, certain trust or 
retirement income or certain retirement, education, or medical savings accounts; 

(m) Alimony and support, other than child support, but only to the extent that wages are exempt from execution under 
Section 52-361a of the General Statutes; 

(n)  An award under a crime reparations act; 
(o)  All benefits allowed by any association of persons in this state to support any of its members that are 

incapacitated by sickness or infirmity from attending to his or her usual business; 
(p)  All moneys that are owed to the judgment debtor from any insurance company on any insurance policy on 

exempt property, up to the same amount that the property was exempt; 
(q)  Burial plot for the judgment debtor and his or her immediate family; 
(r)   Transfers of money that cannot be taken back (revoked) to an account held by a debt adjuster licensed under 

Sections 36a-655 to 36a-665 of the General Statutes for the benefit of creditors of the judgment debtor; 
(s)  Any interest of the judgment debtor in any property worth not more than $1,000.00; 
(t)   Any interest of the judgment debtor worth not more than $4,000.00 in any accrued dividend or interest under, or 

loan value of, any unmatured life insurance contract owned by the judgment debtor under which the insured is 
the judgment debtor or is an individual who the judgment debtor is a dependent of; and 

(u)  The homestead (home) of the judgment debtor worth not more than $75,000.00, or, in the case of a money 
judgment arising out of services provided at a hospital worth not more than $125,000.00, the value must be 
determined as the fair market value of the real property minus the amount of any statutory or agreed on 
(consensual) lien which is on the property.
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STATE YOUR NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO.

NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO. OF YOUR EMPLOYER

STATE THE DATE ON WHICH YOU ARE PAID FOR BOTH REGULAR AND OVERTIME WORK

YOUR JOB TITLE OR POSITION

Are you presently employed?

Are you receiving any income from any source not
disclosed in your answers to the foregoing questions?

STATE THE SOURCE(S) OF SUCH INCOME

IF THERE ARE ANY PAYMENTS DUE FROM THE ABOVE SOURCE STATE (1) THE AMOUNT DUE AND (2) NAME AND ADDRESS OF PARTY FROM WHOM IT IS DUE

AMOUNT RECEIVED EACH WEEK

YES  (If yes, complete the information below)

YES (If yes, complete the information below)

List all banks, savings and loan associations, credit unions or other financial institutions in which you maintain an account
of any kind, giving in your answer the following: (You need only disclose assets clearly sufficient to ensure full satisfaction
of the judgment with interest and costs.)

X

NAME AND ADDRESS OF INSTITUTION

NAME IN WHICH ACCOUNT IS HELD

NAME AND ADDRESS OF INSTITUTION

NAME IN WHICH ACCOUNT IS HELD

ACCOUNT NO.

IF JOINT ACCOUNT GIVE NAME AND ADDRESS OF OTHER PERSON(S)

PRESENT BALANCE ($) ACCOUNT NO. PRESENT BALANCE ($)

IF JOINT ACCOUNT GIVE NAME AND ADDRESS OF OTHER PERSON(S)

List all nonexempt personal property in which you have an interest, whether legal or beneficial, which in total value is clearly sufficient to
ensure full satisfaction of the judgment with interest and costs, including but not limited to (a) cash on hand, (b) household goods and
supplies and furnishings, (c) stamp and/or coin collections and other collections, (d) wearing apparel, (e) jewelry, (f) watches, (g)
automobiles, (h) trucks, (i) trailers or other motor vehicles, (j) boats, motors and accessories. As to each such item of property give the
precise description and location, the approximate value of such property and whether or not such property is subject to any form of
security interest, lien or encumbrance. If so, state the name and address of such holder of a security interest, lien or encumbrance, the
nature of the instrument evidencing the same and the amount of the instrument. (If additional space is necessary, attach a separate
sheet to this form.)

State whether any of your nonexempt personal property is in the hands of a third person. If so, describe the property involved, the
person or persons so holding the property, the reason the property is so held and any consideration that may have passed therefor.

JD-CV-23a (Page 1 of 2) Rev. 6-2000

I. JUDGMENT DEBTOR

 NO

NO

NAME, ADDRESS OF EACH BOOKKEEPER, PAYROLL CLERK OR OTHER PERSON HAVING RECORDS OF SALARIES OR OTHER SUMS OF MONEY PAID TO YOU
BY YOUR PRESENT EMPLOYER

NAME OF CASE

JUDGMENT CREDITOR: Complete Name of Case and Docket No., put an "X" in the box next to the items to be answered.
PERSON SERVED WITH INTERROGATORIES: Answer the questions indicated by   . You must disclose assets of the judgment debtor up to an
amount clearly sufficient to satisfy the judgment indicated by the "Amount Due Thereon" on the attached form JD-CV-23. Place answers in space provided on
this form. If you need more room to answer these questions, use the space on page 2 of attached form JD-CV-23 or attach additional sheets. You must
answer the questions and return them to the person named on attached form JD-CV-23 within thirty days of the date of service.

X

INSTRUCTIONS

DOCKET NO.

IF YOU RECEIVE ADDITIONAL COMPENSATION FOR OVERTIME, STATE (1) RATE OF OVERTIME PAY  AND (2) THE AVERAGE NO. OF HOURS OF OVERTIME YOU
WORK PER WEEK 

www.jud.state.ct.us
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II. EMPLOYER

Is the Judgment Debtor employed by you?

NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO. OF THE BOOKKEEPER, PAYROLL CLERK OR OTHER PERSON WHO DISBURSES EMPLOYEE'S  WAGES OR SALARY

EMPLOYEE'S GROSS SALARY PER HOUR, WEEK, MONTH, OR YEAR

III. FINANCIAL INSTITUTION
Does the Judgment Debtor maintain an account of any kind with your institution?

YES (If yes, complete the information below)

YES
(If yes, complete the information below. You may disclose only whether you hold funds of the judgment debtor on account and the
balance of such funds if so held, up to the amount necessary to satisfy the judgment.)

YOUR NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO.

THE DATES ON WHICH EMPLOYEE IS PAID FOR BOTH REGULAR AND OVERTIME WORK

EMPLOYEE'S NORMAL WORKING HOURS

YOUR NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO.

ACCOUNT NO. OF EACH ACCOUNT

PRESENT BALANCE IN EACH ACCOUNT

NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO. OF YOUR INSTITUTION

NAME IN WHICH THE ACCOUNT IS HELD

IF JOINT ACCOUNT, THE NAME AND ADDRESS OF THE OTHER PERSON(S)

IV. THIRD PERSON IN POSSESSION OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR'S PROPERTY
Are you in possession of nonexempt personal property belonging to the judgment debtor?
 (If yes, complete the following information.) 

YES

YOUR NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO.

DESCRIBE THE PROPERTY, THE REASON YOU ARE HOLDING IT AND ANY CONSIDERATION THAT MAY HAVE PASSED FOR YOUR HOLDING THE PROPERTY.

JD-CV-23a (Page 2 of 2) Rev. 6-2000

NO

 NO

NO

List all real estate in your name which in total value is clearly sufficient to ensure full satisfaction of the judgment with
interest and costs (where possible give street address).

List your accounts receivable which in total value are clearly sufficient to ensure full satisfaction of the judgment with
interest and costs giving a) the name of the party, b) the amount owed, and c) the date the debt was incurred. (If additional
space is needed, attach a separate sheet to this form.)

SIGNED (Person completing form or authorized agent) PRINT NAME OF PERSON SIGNING AT LEFT DATE SIGNED

V. SIGNATURE OF PERSON COMPLETING THIS FORM OR AUTHORIZED AGENT
X NOTE: Interrogatories served on a judgment debtor shall be signed by such debtor under penalty of false statement.

LOCATION OF THE PROPERTY
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Signed (Assistant Clerk of said court)

Ex
ec

ut
io

n

To: Any Proper Officer
Whereas the above-named Judgment Creditor(s) recovered judgment against the above-named Judgment Debtor(s) for the

above Amount of Judgment, Costs and Fees as appears of record, whereof execution remains to be done on the Total Shown in line
8 above,

And Whereas, pursuant to statute, the said court entered an order that said  judgment be paid in installment payments,
And Whereas, the said Judgment Debtor(s) failed to comply with said order for installment payments, as appears of record by

application of said Judgment Creditor(s) moving that this execution issue on said Total
in line 8 above.

WAGE EXECUTION PROCEEDINGS
APPLICATION, ORDER, EXECUTION
JD-CV-3   Rev. 10-09
General Statutes §§ 31-58(j), 52-350a, 52-361a,
52-356d, 29 U.S.C. 206(a)(1)

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
SUPERIOR COURT

Instructions

1. Prepare original and four copies.
2. Attach form JD-CV-3a to one copy of this form.
3. Present original and 3 copies to clerk of court.
4. Keep one copy for your file.

Address of court (Number, street, and town) Date of judgment

1. Issue execution by signing original and 2 copies.
2. Retain one copy for court file
3. Enter any court ordered limitation at the bottom of
    section II on page 2.

1. Leave one signed copy with employer.
2. Make return on signed original.
3. Leave one copy of Modification and Exemption
    Claim form (JD-CV-3a) with employer and fill
    in "Date of Service" on form.

$

Docket number

(Fold)

Name and mailing address of Judgment Creditor or Attorney
(To be completed by Judgment Creditor or Attorney)

Judgment Creditor or Attorney  Clerk Proper Officer

Commencement date
(Employers must pay amount of execution calculated on page 2 of this form)

Name and address of employer of Judgment Debtor (If known) Telephone number of employer (if known)

Signed (Judgment Creditor or Attorney) Telephone number

A
pp

lic
at

io
n

Page 1 of 2 

G.A. J.D.

Amount of                                (weekly, monthly, or other) payments ordered

Date signed

APPWEX

WAGEEX

www.jud.ct.gov

Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Debtor(s)Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Creditor(s)

5. Total amount unpaid (Subtract 4 from 3)

1. Amount of judgment (Include where applicable, prejudgment interest and attorney's fees) 2. Amount of costs and fees

3. Total amount of judgment, costs and fees (Add 1 and 2) 4. Total amount paid (If any)

6. Application fee for wage execution (If not waived by the court)

8. Total of lines 5, 6 and 7

On (Date)

For Court Use Only
File date

WAGE EXECUTION PROCEEDINGS

Housing Session

These are, therefore, by authority of the State of Connecticut, to command you, that of
any wages due any said Judgment Debtor as may not exceed the Amount of Execution
calculated on page 2 of this form, within your precincts, you cause to be levied, paid, and
satisfied unto the said Judgment Creditor(s), with postjudgment interest as ordered by the
Court, if applicable, plus the application fee and other Court ordered postjudgment costs
and fees, and your own fees.

Make service hereof within one year of this date, and due return hereof with your
doings thereon, within thirty days from satisfaction hereof.

Employer: See Page 2 for instructions

7. Other Court ordered postjudgment costs and fees

Check if applicable

Postjudgment interest was ordered by the Court
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Computation Of Employee's Disposable Earnings

Important Notice To Employer
You are being served with a wage execution, a court order requiring you to withhold non-exempt wages from a person employed by you. This execution is being served on you
because your employee, the Judgment Debtor (on page 1), has had a judgment entered against him/her by the Superior Court requiring him/her to pay judgment, costs and fees to
the Judgment Creditor (on page 1) and has not made payment of the total amount of the judgment plus any costs and fees as shown on page 1. This notice is to inform you of the
actions you must take in order to comply with the law regarding wage executions. Please read each section carefully.

I. You must notify the employee — Your employee has certain legal rights which
may allow him/her to request the court to change or stop this execution upon his/her
wages. A notice of his/her rights and how  to get a hearing in court is attached to the
second copy of the  wage execution given to you by the officer. You must complete
your portion of the wage execution and your portion of the exemption and modification
claim form and deliver or mail, postage prepaid, a copy of these papers to your
employee immediately so that your employee can make any claims allowed by law.

Court ordered limitation (If any, to be entered by clerk)

II. Execution not effective for 20 days — This execution is not effective until after 20
days from the day the officer served these papers on you. No money should be
deducted from your employee's wages until the first wages you pay to your employee
after the 20-day period ends.

If your employee elects within the 20-day period to make a claim to the court that
his/her wages are partially or totally exempt from execution to pay this judgment or
he/she seeks to have the amount of this execution changed, wages are not to be
withheld from the employee until the court decides the claims or determines the rights
of your employee in this case.
If you are not notified that your employee has filed papers with the court, the execution
is to be enforced after 20 days from the date of service on you.

III. Stay of execution — No earnings claimed to be exempt or subject to a claim for
modification may be withheld from any employee until determination of the claim by
the court.

IV. Only one execution issued under section 52-361a of the General Statutes is
to be satisfied at a time — You must make deductions from your employee's wages
and pay over the withheld money against only one execution issued under General
Statutes section 52-361a at a time. If you are served with more than one execution
issued under General Statutes section 52-361a against this employee's wages, the

executions are to be satisfied in the order in which you are served with them. (Income
withholdings and voluntary wage deductions for support of a family, if there are any,
must be paid before this execution. Family support income withholdings and voluntary
wage deductions are issued on Form JD-FM-1.)

"Disposable Earnings" means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining after the deduction from those earnings of amounts to be
withheld for payment of federal income and employment taxes, normal retirement contributions, union dues and initiation fees, group life
insurance premiums, health insurance premiums, and federal tax levies.

Section I.

  1. Employee's gross compensation per week.........................................................................................

  2. Federal income tax withheld..................................................................

  3. Federal employment tax........................................................................

  4. Normal retirement contribution..............................................................

  5. Union dues and initiation fees...............................................................

  6. Group life insurance premium................................................................

  7. Health insurance premium.....................................................................

  8. Other federal tax levies..........................................................................

  9. Total allowable deductions (Add lines 2-8)............................................

10. Weekly Disposable Earnings (Subtract line 9 from line 1).....................................................

To be calculated by employer Column 1 Column 2

A-1. Weekly disposable earnings (from line 10 above) $

Computation Of Employee's Disposable Earnings

$

$

$

$

$

A-2. 25% of disposable earnings for week

Amount of Execution (Lesser of the two amounts in column 2 subject to any court
ordered limitation set forth in the box below if a lesser amount.) 

B-1. Weekly disposable earnings (from line 10 above)

Forty times the HIGHER of the current federal min-
imum hourly wage OR state full minimum fair wage.

        Amount by which line B-1 exceeds B-2 

B-2.

V. Maximum amount deducted — The maximum amount which can be legally
withheld from your employee's wages is 25% of his/her disposable earnings for each
week. The amount to be withheld to pay this execution may be less than 25%, but it
can never be more. The computations you complete below will allow you to calculate
the exact amount which should be withheld from this employee's wages.

Unless the court orders that this execution is to be for a smaller amount, you must
withhold and pay over the maximum amount which you figure out using the
computations below. Your employee has a right to request the court to reduce the
amount withheld, but until you receive notice that the court has agreed to allow the
amount to be reduced, you must withhold the maximum amount.

VI. Your duty to comply with this execution — You have a legal duty to make
deductions from your employee's wages and pay any amounts deducted as required
by this execution. If you do not, legal action may be taken against you. If you are
found to be in contempt of a court order, you may be held liable to the Judgment
Creditor for the amounts of wages which you did not withhold from your employee.

VII. Discipline against your employee — You may not discipline, suspend or
discharge your employee because this wage execution has been served upon you. If
you do unlawfully take action against your employee, you may be liable to pay  him all
of his lost earnings and employment benefits from the time of your action to the time
that the employee is reinstated.

The law allows you to take disciplinary measures against the employee if you are
served with more than 7 wage executions against his/her wages in any calendar year.

Page 2 of 2 

Section II.

JD-CV-3  Rev. 10-09
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Employer must fill out this section and IMMEDIATELY send one copy of this form and the Wage
Execution form (JD-CV-3) to the judgment debtor (General Statutes section 52-361a(d)).Section III - 

EXEMPTION AND MODIFICATION 
CLAIM FORM, WAGE EXECUTION
JD-CV-3a Rev. 3-10
C.G.S. § 31-58(j), 52-212, 52-350a, 52-352b, 52-361a,
52-361b, 29 U.S.C. 206(a)(1) 

Instructions

Judgment Creditor (person who money is paid to) must fill out this section and attach to one copy of 
the wage execution application (JD-CV-3).

Date of service of wage execution on employer

To proper officer: Complete Section II below and
make service on employer in accordance with the
instructions on form JD-CV-3.

To employer: Complete Section III below and
immediately deliver to employee.

Name of judgment debtor (person who must pay money)

Docket number

Because a judgment entered against you, the attached execution has been issued against wages earned by you from the employer
named above. Beginning twenty (20) days from the Date of Service of Wage Execution on Employer indicated above, the employer will
remove from your weekly earnings an amount of money which leaves you with (a) seventy-five percent (75%) of your disposable earnings
OR (b) forty (40) times the higher of the minimum hourly wage set by federal law or state law; whichever is the larger amount. On page 2 of
this form are the sections of the Connecticut General Statutes which your employer must follow to figure out (calculate) the weekly amount
that may be taken out of your wages to agree with the wage execution. If you think that your employer has not calculated the weekly amount
correctly, you should tell your employer.

Your earnings may be exempt from execution (do not have to be taken) — Any wages earned by a person who gets public
assistance under an incentive earnings or similar program are exempt from(may not be taken from you by an) execution. (Section
52-352b(d) of the Connecticut General Statutes).

How to claim an exemption allowed by law — If you want to claim that your earnings are exempt by law from execution you must fill
out and sign the Claim of Exemption on page 2 of this form and return this exemption and modification claim form to the Superior Court at
the above address.

When the clerk of the Superior Court gets this form, the clerk will notify you and the judgment creditor of the date on which the court will
have a hearing to figure out the issues raised by your claim. If this form is received by the court no later than twenty (20) days from the Date
of Service of Wage Execution on Employer indicated above, the employer will not begin withholding  (removing) your earnings from your
wages until after your claim is figured out by the court. A claim may also be filed after the twenty (20) day period. No earnings claimed to be
exempt may be withheld from any employee until the claim has been figured out.

Modification of execution — If you have reasonable cause to believe that you have a right to a modification (change) of the wage
execution and you want to ask for a modification (to have less money taken from your wages), you must fill out the Claim for Modification on
page 2 of this form and return this exemption and modification claim form to the Superior Court 
at the address listed above.

Name and mailing address of judgment debtor (person who must pay money) or
attorney of judgment debtor

(To be completed by judgment creditor (person who money is paid to))

Name of case

Name of proper officer

Name and address of employer

Date of delivery or mailing to judgment debtor

Telephone number of payroll department

Page 1 of 2 

Name and address of court

Section II - Proper Officer must complete this section

To:

* C L O E X M *

Judicial 
District

Housing
Session

Exemption and modification claim

Total amount of wage execution

$
Amount to be taken out from weekly earnings

$

When the clerk of Superior Court gets this form the clerk will tell you and the judgment creditor
the date on which the court will have a hearing court to figure out the issues raised by your claim. If
this form is received by the court no later than twenty (20) days from the Date of Service of Wage
Execution on Employer indicated above, the employer will not begin withholding your earnings until
after your claim is figured out by the court. A claim may also be filed after the twenty (20) day
period. No earnings subject to a claim for modification may be withheld from any employee until the
claim has been figured out.

Setting aside judgment — If the judgment was made against you because you did not come
to court, you may, within four (4) months of the date the court made its judgment and upon belief
that you have reasonable cause, ask the court to set aside the judgment entered against you and
the case will begin again.

For Court Use Only
File date

Section IV - Notice to judgment debtor (person who must pay money)

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
SUPERIOR COURT

www.jud.ct.gov

G.A.
number

Section I -
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Section VII - Agreement to a modification

Section V - Claim of exemption established by law

I, the Judgment Debtor (person who must pay money), claim and certify under the penalty of false statement that my
earnings are exempt from execution (do not have to be taken) because:

New amount requested

Signed (Judgment Debtor) Date signed

I get public assistance and earn wages under an incentive earnings or similar program and my earnings 
are exempt from execution, or

Other statutory exemption (state exemption and statutory citation)

Name and address of judgment debtor Telephone number

I, the Judgment Debtor (person who must pay money), ask for a modification of the wage execution against me because:
Describe why you think you should get a modification (have less money taken from your wages)

Signed (Judgment Debtor) Date signed Name and complete mailing address of judgment debtor Telephone number

The Judgment Creditor(s) (person who money is paid to) agrees to the modification of the Wage Execution claimed
Signed (Judgment  Creditor(s) or Attorney)) Date

Date of hearing
By the Assistant Clerk

It is ordered that:

Signed (Judge, Magistrate, Assistant  Clerk) Date signed

By order of the court

1. The following is the part of section 52-361a(f) of the Connecticut General Statutes which says what part of your wages can be removed by the
employer and given to the judgment creditor.

"The maximum part of the aggregate weekly earnings of an individual which may be subject under this section to levy or other withholding for
payment of a judgment is the lesser of (1) twenty-five (25) percent of his disposable earnings for that week, or (2) the amount by which his disposable
earnings for that week exceed forty (40) times the higher of (A) the minimum hourly wage prescribed by section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of
1938, 29 U.S.C. section 206(a)(1), or (B) the full minimum fair wage established by subsection (j) of section 31-58, in effect at the time the earnings are
payable."

2. The following is the part of section 52-350a(4) of the Connecticut General Statutes which defines disposable earnings and which defines what parts
of your wages which can not be included in your total earnings when figuring out (calculating) the weekly amount which is subject to execution.

"'Disposable earnings' means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required to be
withheld for payment of federal income and employment taxes, normal retirement contributions, union dues and initiation fees, group life insurance
premiums, health insurance premiums and federal tax levies."

Page 2 of 2 

/ Per week

JD-CV-3a (Back/page 2) Rev. 3-10

Section VI - Claim for modification

Section VIII - Notice of hearing on exemption / modification claim

Section IX - Order of court

General statutes

Time of hearing Courtroom
__. M.

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a
reasonable accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact the clerk at the court named on page 1 or an ADA
contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA/. 
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EX
EC

U
TI

O
N

 (Add 1 and 2)

PROPERTY EXECUTION PROCEEDINGS
APPLICATION, ORDER, EXECUTION
JD-CV-5 Rev. 1-04, C.G.S. §§ 52-356a, 52-356d
P.A. 03-266 Sec. 9

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
SUPERIOR COURT

Type or print original and four copies of the
Application. If judgment debtor is a natural person,
attach copy of form JD-CV-5b. Present original
and 3 copies to clerk of court. Enter name and
address of person to receive issued execution in
the address box below. See Notice to Judgment
Creditor or Attorney on back/page 2.

ADDRESS OF COURT (Number, street, and town) DATE OF JUDGMENT

SIGNED (Assistant Clerk)

X

Check the file to ensure that no stay of enforcement has
been entered on the judgment, the time for filing an
appeal of the judgment has expired, no appeal has been
filed staying enforcement of the judgment and that the
information provided on the application is correct. Sign
original execution; return original and 2 copies to the
applicant. Retain a copy for the file.

Make execution as directed in the "Execution" section
below. Attach return to signed original within 4 months
from the date this execution issued. If judgment debtor
is a natural person, attach exemption claim form
JD-CV-5b to copy(ies) of execution served. Complete
Section II on exemption claim form.

DOCKET NUMBER

(Fold)

NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS OF JUDGMENT CREDITOR OR ATTORNEY
(To be completed by Judgment Creditor or Attorney)

TO CLERK TO PROPER OFFICER

SIGNED (Judgment Creditor or Attorney) TELEPHONE NO. (Include area code)

A
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N

PAGE 1 OF 2 

G.A. J.D.

DATE  SIGNED

EXISSUE

EXRETD

www.jud.ct.gov

NAME(S) AND ADDRESS(ES) OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR(S) 
(Include any necessary identification information)

NAME(S)  AND ADDRESS(ES) OF JUDGMENT CREDITOR(S) MAKING APPLICATION

5. TOTAL AMOUNT UNPAID (Subtract 4 from 3)

1. AMOUNT OF JUDGMENT 2. AMOUNT OF COSTS AND FEES

4. TOTAL AMOUNT PAID (If any) 6. APPL. FEE FOR PROP. EXECUTION 7. TOTAL OF LINES 5 AND 6

ON (Date)

PROPERTY EXECUTION PROCEEDINGS

HOUSING SESS.

SEE BACK/PAGE 2 FOR INSTRUCTIONS TO PERSON IN POSSESSION OF PROPERTY OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR

TO JUDGMENT CREDITOR OR ATTORNEY

IS THIS A CONSUMER JUDGMENT? ("Consumer judgment" means a money judgment of less than $5,000 against a natural person resulting from a debt incurred
primarily for personal, family or household purposes) YESNO YESNO
IF A STAY OF PROPERTY EXECUTION HAS BEEN ENTERED, HAS THE JUDGMENT DEBTOR DEFAULTED ON AN INSTALLMENT PAYMENT ORDER? (Specify)

To Any Proper Officer:
Whereas on said date of judgment the Judgment Creditor(s) recovered judgment against the Judgment Debtor(s) before the court for
the amount stated, as appears of record, whereof execution remains to be done. These are, therefore, BY AUTHORITY OF THE
STATE OF CONNECTICUT TO COMMAND YOU: That of the nonexempt goods of said Judgment Debtor(s) within your precincts,
you cause to be levied (the same being seized and sold as the law directs), paid and satisfied to said Judgment Creditor(s) the total
unpaid amount of said judgment, plus your own fees in the following manner: You shall personally serve a copy of this execution on
the judgment debtor, and if the judgment debtor is a natural person, a copy of the exemption claim form (JD-CV-5b), and make
demand for payment by the judgment debtor of all sums due under the money judgment. On failure of the judgment debtor to make
immediate payment you are commanded to levy on nonexempt personal property of the judgment debtor, other than debts due from
a banking institution or earnings, sufficient to satisfy the judgment as follows: If such nonexempt personal property is in the
possession of the judgment debtor, you shall take such personal property into your possession as is accessible without breach of
peace. If the judgment debtor has left the state prior to service of this execution, or if he cannot be found with reasonable effort at his
last known address in this state, you shall proceed with the levy after (1) making demand for payment at such last known address
and on any agent or attorney of the judgment debtor of record with the clerk of the Superior Court and (2) making a reasonable effort
to ascertain and provide notice of the execution at any forwarding address.
See back/page 2 for additional command regarding Demand on Third Person.

If yes, has a stay of property execution been
entered pursuant to an installment payment order?

 (Include, where applicable, prejudg-
ment interest and attorney's fees)

3. TOTAL AMOUNT OF JUDGMENT, COSTS AND FEES

(If not waived
by the court)

HEREOF FAIL NOT, AND MAKE DUE RETURN OF THIS WRIT WITH YOUR DOINGS
THEREON, ACCORDING TO LAW, WITHIN FOUR MONTHS HEREOF.

THE JUDGMENT DEBTOR'S NONEXEMPT PERSONAL PROPERTY IS SUBJECT TO  LEVY,
SEIZURE, AND SALE BY THE PROPER OFFICER PURSUANT TO THIS EXECUTION.

NOTICE:

APPFEXT

PAGE 1 OF 2 

FOR COURT USE ONLY

IS THIS A JUDGMENT ARISING OUT OF SERVICES PROVIDED AT A HOSPITAL?

YES  (If yes, see Notice to Judgment Creditor or Attorney on back/page 2)NO
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PERSON IN POSSESSION OF PROPERTY OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR WHO IS A NATURAL PERSON  — Pursuant to Gen. Stat.
52-356a, you are required to mail to the judgment debtor indicated on the front/page 1 at his or her last known address, postage
prepaid, a copy of this property execution and the attached property execution exemption claim form. Complete Section III on
exemption claim form before mailing it to judgment debtor. Twenty days from the date of the service of this property execution, you
must deliver to the proper officer property owned by the judgment debtor in your possession or you must deliver to the proper officer
payment of a debt owed by you to the judgment debtor. EXCEPT (1) If an exemption claim has been filed with the court you shall
withhold delivery of the property or payment of the debt owed by you subject to the determination of the exemption claim by the court
and (2) if the debt owed by you to the judgment debtor is not due at the expiration of the twenty days, you shall pay the amount to the
proper officer when the debt becomes due if it becomes due within four months after the date of issuance of this execution.

PERSON IN POSSESSION OF PROPERTY OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR WHO IS NOT A NATURAL PERSON — Pursuant to Gen.
Stat. 52-356a, you are required to deliver to the proper officer, property in your possession owned by the judgment debtor or pay to the
proper officer the amount of a debt owed by you to the judgment debtor, provided, if the debt owed by you is not yet payable, payment
shall be made to the proper officer when the debt becomes due if it becomes due within four months after the date of issuance of this
execution.

JD-CV-5 (page 2) Rev. 1/04 PAGE 2 OF 2 

A.  If judgment debtor is a natural person:
 On failure of the judgment debtor to make immediate payment

of all sums due under the money judgment, and upon your being
unable to levy on nonexempt personal property of the judgment
debtor in the judgment debtor's possession and, if the judgment
debtor has left the state prior to the service of this execution, upon
your being unable to obtain payment sufficient to satisfy the
judgment by making demand for payment at the judgment debtor's
last known address in this state and on any agent or attorney of the
judgment debtor of record with the clerk of the Superior Court, you
are also commanded to make demand upon any third person
having possession of nonexempt personal property of the judgment
debtor for payment to you, or to levy on any nonexempt personal
property or debt due said judgment debtor sufficient to satisfy the
total amount of judgment unpaid pursuant to Gen. Stat.
52-356a(4)(c). After having made such demand you are directed to
serve two true and attested copies of this execution, together with
the exemption claim form, with your doings endorsed thereon, on
the third person upon whom such demand was made.

DEMAND ON THIRD PERSON  (continued from front/page 1)

B.  If judgment debtor is not a natural person:
    On failure of the judgment debtor to make
immediate payment of all sums due under the money
judgment and upon your being unable to levy on
nonexempt personal property of the judgment debtor
in the judgment debtor's  possession and, if the
judgment debtor has left the state prior to the service
of this execution, upon your being unable to obtain
payment sufficient to satisfy the judgment by making
demand for payment at the judgment debtor's last
known address in this state and on any agent or
attorney of the judgment debtor of record with the clerk
of the Superior Court, you are also commanded to
make demand upon any third person having
possession of nonexempt personal property of the
judgment debtor for payment to you or to levy on any
nonexempt personal property or debt due said
judgment debtor(s) sufficient to satisfy the total
amount of the judgment unpaid pursuant to Gen. Stat.
52-356a(4)(c).

EX
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INSTRUCTIONS  (continued from front/page 1)

NOTICE TO JUDGMENT CREDITOR OR ATTORNEY

Pursuant to Public Act 03-266, Section 9, in the case of a judgment arising of services provided at a hospital, no application for a
property execution shall be made until the court has (A) issued an order for installment payments in accordance with Gen. Stat.
52-356d, (B) made a finding that the debtor has defaulted on payments under the order, and (C) lifted the mandatory stay concerning
noncompliance or default, and decide whether to modify the installment payment plan, continue the  installment payment plan, or lift
the stay.
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EXEMPTION CLAIM FORM
PROPERTY EXECUTION
JD-CV-5b  Rev. 8-06
C.G.S. 52-321a, 52-352b, 52-361a, 52-361b

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
SUPERIOR COURT

ADDRESS OF COURT (Number, street, town, zip code)

As a result of a judgment entered against you the attached execution has been issued against your personal property.
SOME OF YOUR PERSONAL PROPERTY MAY BE EXEMPT FROM EXECUTION -- Certain classes of personal property
may be protected from execution by state statutes or other laws or regulations of this state or of the United States. A
checklist and description of the most common classes of personal property of a natural person exempt from execution are
set forth on page 2 of this form.

HOW TO CLAIM AN EXEMPTION ESTABLISHED BY LAW -- If you wish to claim that the property levied on by the
levying officer is exempt by law from execution you must fill out and sign the Claim of Exemption on page 2 of this form and
return this exemption claim form to the clerk of the Superior court at the above address. The form must be received by the
clerk of the Superior Court within 20 days after levy on the property.

Upon receipt of this form, the court clerk will notify you and the judgment creditor of the date on which a hearing will be
held by the court to determine the issues raised by your claim.

RIGHT TO REQUEST INSTALMENT PAYMENT ORDER -- Pursuant to section 52-356d of the general statutes, if you
are a consumer judgment debtor, you may seek to have the court issue an instalment payment order with a provision that
compliance with the order prevents a levy on your property. An instalment payment order is an order of the court that you
pay a weekly amount to the judgment creditor until the judgment is satisfied.

"Consumer Judgment" means a money judgment of less than five thousand dollars against a natural person resulting
from a  debt or obligation incurred primarily for personal, family, or household purposes.

SETTING ASIDE THE JUDGMENT -- If the judgment was rendered against you because of your failure to appear in
court, you may, pursuant to section 52-212 of the general statutes, within four months of the date judgment was rendered
and upon belief that you have reasonable cause, move the court to set aside the judgment rendered against you.

NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR OR ATTORNEY
(To be completed by judgment creditor or judgment creditor's attorney)

PAGE 1 OF 2 

G A. J.D. HOUSING SESSION

NAME OF CASE DOCKET NO.

NAME OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR

DATE EXECUTION MAILED TO JUDGMENT DEBTOR

DATE OF SERVICE OF EXECUTION

SECTION I (Must be completed by judgment creditor or judgment creditor's attorney)

SECTION II (Must be completed by proper officer)

SECTION III (Must be completed by third person served with execution (if any))

NAME AND ADDRESS OF THIRD PERSON SERVED WITH EXECUTION (if any)

NAME AND ADDRESS OF PROPER OFFICER

TO JUDGMENT CREDITOR OR JUDGMENT
CREDITOR'S ATTORNEY: Complete section I below
        and follow instructions on form JD-CV-5.
TO PROPER OFFICER: Complete section II below
        and follow instructions on form JC-CV-5.
TO THIRD PERSON: Complete section III below and

follow instructions on form JD-CV-5.
TO JUDGMENT DEBTOR: Read section IV below

and complete section V if applicable.

INSTRUCTIONS

SECTION IV NOTICE TO JUDGMENT DEBTOR

TELEPHONE NO. (if known)

www.jud.ct.gov

EXEMPTION CLAIM FORM

FOR COURT USE ONLY

CLOEXM
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DATE OF HEARING

CLAIM OF EXEMPTION ESTABLISHED BY LAW

I, the judgment debtor, hereby claim and certify under penalty of false statement that the property described below is
exempt from execution as follows:

(a) Necessary apparel, bedding, foodstuffs, household furniture and appliances;
(b) Tools, books, instruments, farm animals and livestock feed, which are necessary to the exemptioner in the course of his or
       her occupation, profession, farming operation or farming partnership;
(c) Burial plot for the exemptioner and his or her immediate family;
(d) Public assistance payments and any wages earned by a public assistance recipient under an incentive earnings or
       similar program;
(e) Health and disability insurance payments;
(f) Health aids necessary to enable the exemptioner to work or to sustain health;
(g) Worker's compensation, social security, veterans and unemployment benefits;
(h) Court approved payments for child support;
(i) Arms and military equipment, uniforms or musical instruments owned by any member of the militia or armed forces of
       the United States;
(j) One motor vehicle to the value of one thousand five hundred dollars, provided such value shall be determined as the fair

market value of the motor vehicle less the amount of all liens and security interests which encumber it.
(k) Wedding and engagement rings;
(l) Residential utility deposits for one residence and one residential security deposit;
(m) Any assets or interests of an exemptioner in, or payments received by the exemptioner from, a plan or arrangement

described in section 52-321a;
(n) Alimony and support, other than child support, but only to the extent that wages are exempt from execution under
       general statute section 52-361a;
(o) An award under a crime reparations act;
(p) All benefits allowed by any association of persons in this state towards the support of any of its members incapacitated by

sickness or infirmity from attending to his usual business; and
(q) All moneys due the exemptioner from any insurance company on any insurance policy issued on exempt property, to

the same extent that the property was exempt.
(r) Any interest of the exemptioner in any property not to exceed in value one thousand dollars;
(s) Any interest of the exemptioner not to exceed in value four thousand dollars in any accrued dividend or interest under, or

loan value of, any unmatured life insurance contract owned by the exemptioner under which the insured is the exemptioner
       or an individual of whom the exemptioner is a dependent; and
(t) The homestead of the exemptioner to the value of seventy-five thousand dollars or, in the case of a money judgment arising

out of services provided at a hospital, to the value of one hundred twenty-five thousand dollars, provided value shall be
determined as the fair market value of the real property less the amount of any statutory or consensual lien which encumbers it.

(u) Irrevocable transfers of money to an account held by a bona fide nonprofit debt adjuster licensed pursuant to sections
36a-655 to 36a-665 inclusive for the benefit of creditors of the exemptioner.

PAGE 2 OF 2 

SECTION V

NAME AND ADDRESS OF PERSON HOLDING PROPERTY

PROPERTY CLAIMED TO BE EXEMPT

DESCRIBE BASIS FOR EXEMPTION AS ESTABLISHED BY LAW

TELEPHONE NO.

SIGNED (Judgment debtor)

SIGNED (Judge, Magistrate, Assistant Clerk)

COMPLETE MAILING ADDRESS OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR

DATE SIGNED

TELEPHONE NO.

DATE SIGNED

BY THE ASSISTANT CLERK

ORDERED that the following item(s) are exempt from execution:

BY ORDER OF THE COURT

CHECKLIST AND DESCRIPTION OF COMMON EXEMPTIONS ALLOWED BY LAW (C.G.S. § 52-352b)

__.M.
TIME OF HEARING COURTROOM NO.

JD-CV-5b  (back/page 2) Rev. 8-06

SECTION VI NOTICE OF HEARING ON EXEMPTION/MODIFICATION CLAIM

SECTION VII ORDER OF COURT
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FINANCIAL INSTITUTION EXECUTION
PROCEEDINGS - JUDGMENT DEBTOR
WHO IS A NATURAL PERSON,
APPLICATION AND EXECUTION (See page 2 for instructions to financial institution)

Address of court

JD-CV-24 Rev. 12-09
C.G.S.  §§ 52-356b, 52-367b

5.Total amount unpaid (Subtract 4 from 3)

Date of judgment

Docket number

Financial Institution Execution

Signed (Assistant Clerk)

Within seven days from your receipt of this execution, make demand upon the main office of any financial institution having its main office
within your county, or if such main office is not within your county and such financial institution has one or more branch offices within your
county, upon an employee of such a branch office, such employee and such branch office having been designated by the financial
institution in accordance with regulations adopted by the commissioner of banking, for payment to you pursuant to section 52-367b(b) of
the general statutes of any nonexempt debt due said Judgment Debtor(s), which sum shall not exceed the total unpaid judgment, costs
and fees as stated above, plus postjudgment interest as ordered by the court, if applicable, plus the application fee and other court ordered
postjudgment costs and fees and your own fee. After having made such demand you are directed to serve a true and attested copy of this
execution, together with the attached affidavit and exemption claim form, with your doings 
endorsed thereon, with the financial institution officer upon whom such demand was made. 
Said sum shall be received by you and applied on this execution in accordance with the provisions
of section 52-367b of the general statutes. You shall not serve more than one financial institution
execution per judgment debtor at a time, including copies thereof. After service of an execution on
one financial institution, you shall not serve the same execution or a copy thereof upon another
financial institution until receiving confirmation from the preceding financial institution that the 
judgment debtor had insufficient funds at the preceding financial institution  available for collection
to satisfy the execution, provided any such additional service is made not later than forty-five days
from the receipt by you of such execution. 

Housing session

1. Amount of judgment 2. Amount of costs 3. Amount of judgment, costs and fees (Add 1 and 2)

4. Total amount paid (If any) 

Signed (Judgment Creditor or Attorney) Telephone number

Geographic
area

Judicial district

Hereof fail not, and make due return of this writ with your doings thereon, according to law.

A
pp

lic
at

io
n

1. Type or print legibly.
2.   Complete the application section; prepare original and 2 copies.
3. Complete section 1 of the Exemption Claim Form, JD-CV-24a and attach to this form.
4. Present original and 1 copy to clerk of court. Retain a copy.

1. Check the file to ensure that the information provided
      on the application is correct.
2. Sign original execution.
3. Return original to applicant, retain a copy for file.

Instructions - Judgment Creditor Or Attorney Instructions - Clerk

Name and mailing address of Judgment Creditor or Attorney  (To be completed by Judgment Creditor)

Fo
ld

Page 1 Of 2

Date signed

Date signed

www.jud.ct.gov

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
SUPERIOR COURT * A P F E A B A *

* E X I S S U E *

FINANCIAL INSTITUTION EXECUTION PROCEEDINGS

6. Application fee for financial institution execution (If not waived by the court)

7. Other court ordered postjudgment costs and fees

(Include, where applicable,
prejudgment interest and
attorney's fees)

8.Total of items 5, 6 and 7 

Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Creditor(s)

Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Debtor(s)

Is this judgment arising out of services rendered at a hospital?

No Yes

No Yes
If this is a judgment arising out of services rendered at a hospital, has a stay of a financial institution execution been
entered pursuant to an installment payment order?

To any proper officer,
Whereas on said Date of Judgment the above-named Judgment Creditor(s) recovered judgment against the above-named Judgment
Debtor(s) before the above-named court for the amount of judgment, costs and fees stated above, as appears of record, whereof
execution remains to be done. These are, therefore, by authority of the state of Connecticut to command you:

For Court Use Only 

If a stay of a financial institution execution has been entered, has the Judgment Debtor defaulted on an installment payment order?

No Yes (Specify):

Check if applicable
postjudgment interest was ordered by the court
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Instructions To Financial Institution Upon Receipt Of A Financial Institution Execution
When Judgment Debtor Is A Natural Person

If any funds are removed from the judgment debtor's account pursuant to subsection (c) of section 52-367b of the general statutes,
complete section II of the accompanying Exemption Claim Form (JD-CV-24a) and send, forthwith, 2 copies of both this form and the
Exemption Claim Form to the judgment debtor and to any secured party that is a party to a control agreement between you and such
secured party under article 9 of title 42a of the general statutes, postage pre-paid, at the last known address of the judgment debtor
and of any such secured party with respect to the affected accounts on the records of your institution.

PAGE 2 OF 2JD-CV-24 (back/page 2) Rev. 12-09

NOTE:  The provisions of section 52-367b, as amended from time to time, take precedence over these instructions.

3.

Remove from the judgment debtor's account the amount of any debts due from you to the judgment debtor not exceeding the Total
Amount Unpaid as appears on page 1 of this form plus interest and the Application Fee for Financial Institution Execution and other
court ordered postjudgment costs or fees and the serving officer's fee, before your midnight deadline, as defined in section 42a-4-104
of the general statutes. If electronic direct deposits that are readily identifiable as exempt federal veterans' benefits, social security
benefits, including, but not limited to, retirement, survivors' and disability benefits, supplemental security income benefits or child
support payments processed and received pursuant to Title IV-D of the Social Security Act were made to the judgment debtor's
account during the thirty-day period preceding the date that the execution was served on you, you shall leave the lesser of the account
balance or one thousand dollars in the judgment debtors' account; provided nothing in this subsection shall be construed to limit your
right or obligation to remove such funds from the debtor's account if required by any other provision of law or by a court order. The
judgment debtor shall have access to such funds left in the judgment debtor's account. You may notify the judgment creditor that funds
have been left in the judgment debtor's account pursuant to this provision. Nothing herein shall alter the exempt status of funds which
are exempt from execution under subsection (a) of section 52-367b of the general statutes or under any other provision of state or
federal law, or the right of a judgment debtor to claim such exemption. Nothing herein shall be construed to affect any other rights or
obligations of the financial institution with regard to the funds in the judgment debtor's account.

You must hold the amount removed from the judgment debtor's account pursuant to this execution for fifteen days from the date you
mail the copies of this form and the Exemption Claim Form to the judgment debtor and any secured party. During such fifteen day
period you must not pay the officer serving this execution.

If the judgment debtor returns the Exemption Claim Form or other written notice that an exemption is being claimed, and if any secured
party delivers to you written notice of such secured party's claim of a prior perfected security interest in such deposit account, you must,
within two business days of receipt of such notice, send a copy of such notice to the clerk of the court which issued the execution. You
must continue to hold the amount removed from the judgment debtor's account for forty-five days or until a court order is received
regarding disposition of the funds, whichever occurs earlier. If no order is received within forty-five days of the date you send a copy of
the Exemption Claim Form or notice of exemption or a secured party claim notice to the clerk of the court, you must return the funds to
the judgment debtor's account.

If you do not receive a claim of exemption or secured party claim notice within fifteen days of the mailing to the judgment debtor and
any secured party of the execution and Exemption Claim Form you must, upon demand, forthwith pay the serving officer the amount
removed from the judgment debtor's account.

If no exemption claim or secured party claim notice is filed or if the court orders you to pay the serving officer an amount removed from
the judgment debtor's account not exceeding the amount due on the execution and you fail or refuse to do so, you shall be liable in an
action therefor to the judgement creditor(s) named in the execution for the amount of nonexempt monies which you fail or refuse to pay
over. If no exemption claim is filed or if the court orders you to pay the serving officer an amount removed from the judgment debtor's
account not exceeding the amount due on the execution and you fail or refuse to do so, you shall be liable in an action therefor to the
judgment creditor(s) name in the execution for the amount of nonexempt monies which you fail or refuse to pay over, excluding funds
of up to one thousand dollars which you in good faith allowed the judgment debtor to access pursuant to subsection (c) of section
52-367b of the general statutes.

If you pay exempt monies from the account of the judgment debtor contrary to these instructions, or the provisions of section 52-367b
of the general statutes, you shall be liable in an action therefor to the judgment debtor for any exempt monies so paid. If you pay
exempt monies from the account of the judgment debtor contrary to these instructions, or the provisions of section 52-367b of the
general statutes, you shall be liable in an action therefor to the judgment debtor for any exempt monies so paid and you shall refund or
waive any charges of fees by you, including, but not limited to, dishonored check fees, overdraft fees or minimum balance service
charges and legal process fees, which were assessed as a result of such payment of exempt monies.

1.

2.

4.

5.

6.

7.



57

Page 1 of 2

EXEMPTION CLAIM FORM 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTION EXECUTION
JD-CV-24A  Rev. 7-10  
C.G.S. 31-58(j), 52-321a, 52-350a, 52-352b, 
52-361a, 52-367b, 29 U.S.C. 206(a)(1)

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
SUPERIOR COURT

www jud.ct.gov

Signed

Section I — (To be completed by judgment creditor)

Section II — (To be completed by financial institution - see instructions on back/page 2) 

As a result of a judgment entered against you, the attached execution has been issued against funds deposited by you in the 
financial institution named above. In compliance with this execution, the financial institution has removed the amount of money indicated 
above from the account(s) enumerated above.  

THE MONEY IN YOUR ACCOUNT(S) MAY BE EXEMPT FROM EXECUTION  - The money in your account(s) may be protected from 
execution by state statutes or by other laws or regulations of this state or of the United States. A checklist and a description of the most 
common exemptions established by law are set forth below.  

HOW TO CLAIM AN EXEMPTION ESTABLISHED BY LAW.  If you wish to claim that the money in your account(s) is exempt by law 
from execution, you must fill out and sign before a proper official the Affidavit of Claim of Exemption below and mail or deliver this 
exemption claim form to the financial institution at the above address. This form must be received by the financial institution no later than 
15 days from the DATE OF MAILING TO THE JUDGMENT DEBTOR indicated above. 

Upon receipt of this form the financial institution will forward it to the Superior Court and the court clerk will notify you and the judgment 
creditor of the date on which a hearing will be held by the court to determine the issues raised by your claim.

I, the judgment debtor named above, hereby claim and certify under the penalty of false statement that the money in the above 
account is exempt by law from execution as follows:  ("X" all that apply to the funds contained in this account)

Additional sheet(s) attached hereto and made a part hereof  (if necessary).

Signed (Notary Public, Commissioner of Superior Court)

Name and address of Judgment Debtor or Attorney 
(To be completed by judgment creditor or attorney)

To:

SECTION  IV AFFIDAVIT OF CLAIM OF EXEMPTION ESTABLISHED BY LAW

Section III — Notice To Judgment Debtor

Housing
Session

Geographical 
Area 
Number

Judicial
District

SEE  INSTRUCTIONS  ON  BACK/PAGE  2

Social Security benefits (§52-352b(g))
Unemployment benefits (§52-352b(g))
Worker's Compensation benefits (§52-352b(g))
Veteran's benefits (§52-352b(g))
Public Assistance payments (§52-352b(d))
Wages* (§52-361a)

Court-ordered child support payments (§52-352b(h))
Alimony and support other than child support* (§52-352b(n))
*See Note Regarding Exemption for Wages and Alimony on back/page 2.

Private pension, trust, retirement, or medical savings
account payments (§§52-321a, 52-352b(m))
Health or disability insurance payments (§52-352b(e))
An amount in the bank not to exceed $1000 (§52-352b(r))
Other claim of exempt funds  (Explain basis for claim of exemption):

Wages earned by a public assistance recipient under an
incentive earnings or similar program (§52-352b(d))

Subscribed and sworn 
to before me on :

Amount claimed to be exempt
if less than the entire amount:

Name and address of Court  (Number, Street, Town and Zip Code)

Name of case Name of Judgment Debtor Docket number

Name and address of financial institution to which exemption claim (if any) is to be returned Date of mailing to Judgment Debtor

Description of account  (e.g., savings, checking, etc.) and 
last four digits of account number

Amount removed pursuant to execution Amount and type of readily identifiable exempt funds not 
removed

Date signed Telephone number

Complete mailing address of Judgment Debtor

Date At  (Town)
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Page 2 of 2

Note Regarding Exemption For Wages And Alimony

Instructions

Section VI —  (To be completed by financial institution upon return of exemption claim form)

Signed  (Assistant Clerk)

The assets in dispute are being held for (1) forty-five days from the date the exemption claim form was received by the financial 
institution designated on the  front of this form or (2) until disposition is ordered by the court at a hearing to be held at short 
calendar on the date set forth below, whichever occurs earlier.

JD-CV-24A (page 2) Rev.  7-10

The amount of wages and alimony that may be subject to levy or other withholding for payment of a judgment is the lesser of (1) twenty- 
five per cent of the individual's disposable earnings for that week, or (2) the amount by which the individual's disposable earnings for that 
week exceed forty times the higher of (A) the federal minimum hourly wage under Section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 
U.S.C. tit. 29, Section 206(a)(1), or (B), the state minimum hourly wage under subsection (j) of Section 31-58, in effect at the time the 
earnings are payable.  

C.G.S. 52-350a(4) defines "disposable earnings" as that part of the earnings of an individual remaining after the deduction from those 
earnings of amounts required to be withheld for payment of federal income and employment taxes, normal retirement contributions, union 
dues and initiation fees, group life insurance premiums, health insurance premiums and federal tax levies.

1. Complete section II of this form and send 2 copies 
of this form and the financial institution execution 
form to the judgment debtor and to any secured 
party that is party to a control agreement between 
the financial institution and such secured party 
under article 9 of title 42a pursuant to section 
52-367b of the General Statutes. 

2. If this claim of exemption is returned completed, fill 
out section VI of this form and mail, within two 
business days, to the issuing clerk's office at the 
address of court indicated on the front side. See 
additional instructions on the financial institution 
execution form. 

To Financial Institution To Clerk
1. Attach this form to each financial institution execution issued in a civil or 

family matter against a judgment debtor that is a natural person. 
2. Deliver the execution along with this form to the judgment creditor 

requesting the execution. 
3. If judgment debtor completes and returns this form claiming an 

exemption, enter the appearance of the judgment debtor with address 
set forth on page 1. 

4. Set matter down for short calendar hearing. 
5. Complete section VII below. 
6. Send file-stamped copy of this form to judgment debtor and judgment 

creditor.  
7. After hearing, send copy of any order entered to the financial institution.

Section VII — Notice To Judgment Debtor And Judgment Creditor

a.m.
p.m.

Order
The Court/Magistrate, having held a hearing to determine the issues raised by this claim, hereby orders that:

Signed  (Judge/Family Support Magistrate/Magistrate/Assistant Clerk)

Section V — Proper Officer Must Complete This Section

Time of hearing

By the Court  (Name of Judge/Family Support Magistrate/Magistrate)

Judge FSM Magistrate

Name and title of proper officer Date of service on financial institution Telephone number

Date claim received Date mailed to court Name of financial institution Telephone number

Date of hearing Courtroom

Date signed

Date signed
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FINANCIAL INSTITUTION EXECUTION
PROCEEDINGS - JUDGMENT DEBTOR
WHO IS NOT A NATURAL PERSON,
APPLICATION  AND EXECUTION (See page 2 for instructions to financial institution)

Address of court

JD-CV-24N Rev. 10-09  C.G.S. 52-367a

5. Total amount unpaid (Subtract 4 from 3)

Date of judgment

Docket number

Financial Institution Execution

Signed (Assistant Clerk)

Make demand upon the main office of any financial institution having its main office within your county, or if such main office is not within
your county and such financial institution has one or more branch offices within your county, upon an employee of such a branch office,
such employee and such branch office having been designated by the financial institution in accordance with regulations adopted by the
commissioner of banking, for payment to you of any debt due said Judgment Debtor(s), which sum shall not exceed the total unpaid
judgment, costs and fees as stated above, plus post judgment interest as ordered by the court, if applicable, plus the application fee and
other court ordered postjudgment costs and fees, and your own fees. Said sum shall be received by you and applied on this execution.
After having made such demand you are directed to serve a true and attested copy hereof, with your doings thereon endorsed, with the
financial institution officer upon whom such demand was made. You shall not serve more than one financial institution execution per
judgment debtor at a time, including copies thereof. After service of an execution on one financial institution, you shall not serve the same
execution or a copy thereof upon another financial institution until receiving confirmation from the preceding financial institution that the
judgment debtor had insufficient funds at the preceding financial institution available for collection to satisfy the execution. If you do not
receive within twenty-five days of the service of the demand a response from the financial institution that was served indicating whether or
not the judgment debtor has funds at the financial institution available for collection, you may 
assume that sufficient funds are not available for collection and you may proceed to serve 
another financial institution in accordance with section 52-367a of the General Statutes.

Housing Session

1. Amount of judgment 2. Amount of costs 3. Amount of judgment, costs and fees

4. Total amount paid (If any)

Signed (Judgment Creditor or Attorney) Telephone number

Geographical
area
number

Judicial District

Hereof fail not, and make due return of this writ with your doings thereon,
according to law. 

A
pp

lic
at

io
n

1. Type or print legibly.
2.   Complete the application section; prepare original and 2 copies.
3. Present original and all copies to clerk of court.

1. Check the file to ensure that the information provided on the application is correct.
2. Sign original execution.
3. Return original and 1 copy to applicant, retain a copy for file.

Instructions - Judgment Creditor or Attorney Instructions - Clerk

Name and mailing address of Judgment Creditor or Attorney  (To be completed by Judgment Creditor)

Fo
ld

Page 1 of 2

Date signed

Date signed

www.jud.ct.gov

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
SUPERIOR COURT * A P F E A B A *

* E X I S S U E *

FINANCIAL INSTITUTION EXECUTION PROCEEDINGS

6. Application fee for financial institution execution

7. Other court ordered postjudgment costs and fees

(Include, where applicable,
prejudgment interest and
attorney's fees)

(Add 1 and 2)

8. Total of items 5, 6 and 7

Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Creditor(s)

Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Debtor(s)

(If not waived by the court)

To Any Proper Officer,
Whereas on said Date of Judgment the above-named Judgment Creditor(s) recovered judgment against the above-named Judgment
Debtor(s) before the above-named court for the amount of judgment, costs and fees stated above, as appears of record, whereof
execution remains to be done. These are, therefore, by authority of the State of Connecticut to command you:

For Court Use Only

Check if applicable

Post judgment interest was ordered by the court

PRINT RESET
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Instructions To Financial Institution Upon Receipt Of A Financial
Institution Execution When Judgment Debtor is Not A Natural Person

You must remove from the judgment debtor's account the amount of any debts due from you to the judgment debtor not exceeding the
Total Amount Unpaid as appears on page 1 of this form, plus interest and the Application Fee for Financial Institution Execution and
court ordered postjudgment costs or fees and the serving officer's fee.

Page 2 of 2JD-CV-24N (back/page 2)  Rev. 10-09

Note:  The provisions of section 52-367a, as amended from time to time, take precedence over these instructions.

3.

Except as provided in #4 below, you must immediately pay to the serving officer the amount removed from the judgment debtor's
account. Nothing herein shall be construed to affect any other rights or obligations of the financial institution with regard to the funds in
the judgment debtor's account.

You must act on this execution according to section 42a-4-303 of the general statutes, before your midnight deadline.

If the deposit account is subject to a security interest of a secured party, other than you, pursuant to a control agreement between you
and such secured party under article 9 of title 42a, and if any funds removed from the judgment debtor's account pursuant to
subsection (c) of section 52-367a of the general statutes you shall forthwith mail a copy of the execution when received from the
serving officer, postage prepaid, to the judgment debtor and to such other secured party at the last known address of such parties  with
respect to the affected accounts on your records. You shall hold the amount removed from the judgment debtor's account for twenty
days from the date of the mailing to the judgment debtor and such other secured party, and during such period you shall not pay the
serving officer. Such other secured party shall give notice of its prior perfected security interest in such deposit account, by delivering to
the clerk of the court that issued the execution a written claim for determination of interests in property pursuant to section 52-365c and
by delivering a copy of such claim to the financial institution upon which such execution is served.

If a written claim for determination of interests in property is made pursuant to subsection (e) of section 52-367a of the general statutes,
you shall continue to hold the amount removed from the judgment debtor's account until a court order is received regarding disposition
of the funds. If no written claim for determination of interests in property is made you shall, upon demand, forthwith pay the serving
officer the amount removed from the judgment debtor's account, and the serving officer shall thereupon pay such sum, less such
serving officer's fees, to the judgment creditor, except to the extent otherwise ordered by a court.

1.

2.

4.

5.

PRINT RESET
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PETITION FOR EXAMINATION
OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR
AND NOTICE OF HEARING

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
SUPERIOR COURT
   www.jud.ct.gov

PETITION FOR EXAMINATION OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR

ORDER FOR EXAMINATION AND NOTICE OF HEARING

DOCKET NO.

QUIZ
COURT USE ONLY

Housing
Session G.A. No.

Judicial
District At

ADDRESS OF COURT (No., street, town and zip code)

NAME(S) OF JUDGMENT CREDITOR(S) ADDRESS(ES) (No., street, town, state and zip code)

NAME OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR ADDRESS (No., street, town, state and zip code)

DATE OF JUDGMENT AMOUNT OF DAMAGES AWARDED AMOUNT OF COSTS AWARDED TOTAL DAMAGES AND COSTS AWARDED

NAME AND ADDRESS OF JUDGMENT CREDITOR'S ATTORNEY (If applicable)

A judgment was recovered against the above-named judgment debtor in the Superior Court on the date and for the
amount of damages and costs indicated above. ("X" one or both)

An execution was issued on this judgment which has been returned unsatisfied in whole or in part.

Postjudgment interrogatories were served on the judgment debtor in accordance with the Connecticut General
Statutes, but the judgment debtor has failed to respond within thirty days of the date of service.

The judgment creditor(s) requests that the judgment debtor be ordered to appear before the Superior Court where
the judgment was entered, to be examined under oath concerning any property and means of paying this judgment.

SIGNED (Judgment creditor or attorney)

The Petition for Examination of Judgment Debtor having been presented to the court, IT IS ORDERED THAT THE
ABOVE-NAMED JUDGMENT DEBTOR APPEAR before the Superior Court AT THE COURT LOCATION SHOWN
ABOVE, to be examined under oath concerning the judgment debtor's property and means of paying the judgment 
described in the above Petiton for Examination of Judgment Debtor ON THE DATE AND TIME SET FOR THE HEARING
SHOWN BELOW.

TO ANY PROPER OFFICER:

SIGNED (Judge/Clerk) DATE SIGNED

COURT HEARING DATE AND TIME
DATE OF HEARING COURTROOMTIME OF HEARING

. m.

TO: The Superior Court

JD-CV-54 Rev. 3-05
C.G.S. § 52-397 INSTRUCTIONS TO JUDGMENT CREDITOR

1. Prepare and present original and two copies to the clerk for review and signature.
2. Attach completed "Subpoena" form JD-CL-43, if applicable.
3. Present original and one copy of signed petition to proper officer for service.
4. Make copy for your file.
5. Original petition must be returned to court after service at least six days prior to the court hearing.
6. Attend court hearing and be prepared to examine the judgment debtor on the debtor's property
    and the means of paying the judgment.

PEJD
COURT USE ONLY

Small Claims
Area At

DATE SIGNED TELEPHONE NO.

By authority of the State of Connecticut, you are commanded to give notice of the pendency of this Petition and to
summon the judgment debtor to appear at the place, date, and time set for the examination by serving on said judgment
debtor, as prescribed by law for the service of civil process, a true and attested copy of the foregoing Petition and of this 
order at least twelve days prior to the hearing date shown above.

Make service and return this Petition to the court at least six days prior to the hearing date shown above.



Notes
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