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GUIDELINES FOR MAGISTRATES 

Effective July 1, 2011 

Magistrates are appointed by the Chief Court Administrator pursuant to Connecticut 

General Statutes Section 51-1931.  Appointments are effective for three-year terms. 

 

The Judicial Branch wishes to provide this opportunity to all interested and qualified 

attorneys.  As a result, reappointment in this capacity may be limited so that others may serve.  

Service is limited to 90 days in each fiscal year, i.e., July 1 – June 30.  Exceptions to the 90-day 

limit may be made in the event of a critical scheduling problem due to an emergency or other 

extraordinary circumstance.  In these instances, written permission must be obtained in advance 

from the Office of the Chief Court Administrator. 

 

Appointment and Removal 

 

The Chief Court Administrator may appoint magistrates to hear and decide cases 

pursuant to statute.  The Chief Court Administrator may revoke the appointment of a magistrate 

for any reason deemed appropriate by the Chief Court Administrator. 

 

Limitations on Practice 

 

An attorney serving as a magistrate may not file an appearance in any matter in this state 

that can be heard by a magistrate, including small claims cases. 

 

 An attorney may not serve as a magistrate in any court location within a Judicial District 
in which that attorney, or any member of a law firm with which that attorney is associated, has 
an appearance on file in any case, in any type of litigation. 



Training Program 
 

An attorney should not serve as a magistrate before attending the magistrate training and 

orientation program conducted by the Office of the Chief Court Administrator. 

 

Ex Parte Communication 

 

Magistrates shall refrain from any ex parte communication.  If a magistrate should 

receive any written communication directly from a party in connection with these duties, the 

document is to be sent immediately to the appropriate clerk’s office without any communication 

with the sending party. 

 

Notification Requirements 

 

Due to their status as non-judicial officers, magistrates must immediately report to the 

Deputy Chief Court Administrator, in writing: 

 

(1) If arrested or issued a summons for violating any criminal, motor vehicle or 

infraction statute of the State of Connecticut, 

 

OR 

 

(2) If there is finding by a local grievance panel or by the Statewide Grievance 

Committee that probable cause exists that the non-judicial officer committed an 

act of omission or commission, 

 

OR 

 

(3) If a suspension order is issued based upon a finding that a non-judicial officer is a 

delinquent child support obligor as defined in C. G. S. § 46b-220(a) and 

incorporated in Practice Book § 2-46. 

 

Failure to comply with this written notification policy may result in (a) being placed on 

inactive status or (b) the revocation of appointment as a non-judicial officer. 

 

Additionally, all changes to contact information must be immediately reported in writing 

to the office of Magistrate Matters. 



Oath of Office 

 

Because of the importance of this position, magistrates are required to take the following 

oath of office: 

 

“You do solemnly swear (or affirm, as the case may be) that you will support the 

Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of Connecticut, 

so long as you continue a citizen thereof; that you will faithfully discharge, 

according to law, the duties of the office of magistrate to the best of your ability; 

and that you will, in addition to complying with the provisions of the Rules of 

Professional Conduct, act in accordance with the Preamble and Scope of the Code 

of Judicial Conduct and comply with the Rules of Canons 1 and 2 and Rules 3.1, 

3.3, 3.5, and 3.6 of Canon 3 of the Code of Judicial Conduct concerning the 

matters in which you serve as a magistrate and such guidelines for this office 

promulgated by the Chief Court Administrator;  so help you God.” 

 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

 

Sec. 51-193t.  Hearing of small claims matters by magistrate.  (a) Notwithstanding the 

provisions of chapter 922a, the hearing and determination of small claims matters may be 

assigned to magistrates.  Magistrates may handle all aspects of the small claims session 

including, but not limited to, the determination of all uncontested and contested matters, motions 

to open judgment, motions to transfer to the regular civil docket, and any motions concerning 

any postjudgment remedy resulting from a small claims judgment. 

 

(b) A magistrate appointed to hear a small claims matter shall not be bound by the rules 

regarding the admissibility of evidence, but all testimony shall be given under oath or 

affirmation.  Either party may be represented by counsel but no record of the proceeding before 

the magistrate shall be required to be kept. 

 

Sec. 51-193u. Hearing of violations and infractions by magistrate.  Authority of 

magistrate decision.  Demand for trial de novo.  (a) Cases involving motor vehicle violations, 

excluding alleged violations of sections 14-215, 14-222, 14-222a, 14-224 and 14-227a and any 

other motor vehicle violation involving a possible term of imprisonment, or any violation, as 

defined in Section 53a-27, which are scheduled for the entering of a plea may be handled by a 

magistrate. 



(b) Infractions and violations designated in subsection (a) of this section in which a plea 

of not guilty has been entered may be heard by a magistrate.  Magistrates shall not have the 

authority to conduct jury trials. 

 

(c) Magistrates shall have the authority to accept pleas of guilty or of not guilty, to accept 

pleas of nolo contendere and enter findings of guilty thereon, to impose fines, to set bonds, to 

forfeit bonds, to continue cases to a date certain, to enter nolles brought by the prosecutorial 

official, to recommend suspension under section 14-111b, 14-140 or 15-154, to order notices of 

intention to suspend motor vehicle licenses and registrations, to order issuance of a mittimus if a 

defendant has been found able to pay and fails to pay, to remit fines, to impose or waive fees and 

costs, to hear and decide motions, to dismiss cases and to decide cases that are tried before him. 

 

(d) A decision of the magistrate, including any penalty imposed, shall become a judgment 

of the court if no demand for a trial de novo is filed.  Such decision of the magistrate shall 

become null and void if a timely demand for a trial de novo is filed.  A demand for a trial de 

novo shall be filed with the court clerk within five days of the date the decision was rendered by 

the magistrate and, if filed by the prosecutorial official, it shall include a certification that a copy 

thereof has been served on the defendant or his attorney, in accordance with the rules of the 

court.  No record of the proceedings shall be required to be kept. 

 

 

 

Per Order of Barbara M. Quinn, Judge 

Chief Court Administrator 
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