Legal Rights of Juveniles:
- What are my legal rights as a juvenile in the State of Connecticut?
- What is a child from a Family with Service Needs (FWSN)?
- What is non-judicial case handling?
Court Dates or Appointments with a Juvenile Probation Officer:
- When do I meet with my Juvenile Probation Officer?
- What if I have an emergency or I am sick, and I cannot come to my appointment?
- Why do I have to sign release of information forms?
What to expect during my probation or supervision:
- Do I have to pay for my treatment services?
- How can I get information about services in the community?
- Where do I send my restitution payments?
1. What are my legal rights as a juvenile in the State of Connecticut?
You have the right to an attorney. The court can give you one if you cannot afford to pay for
one. You have the right to remain silent because anything you say may be used against you later. You have the right to be told everything about
what you are accused of doing.
2. What is a child from a Family with Service Needs (FWSN)?
A juvenile 16 years old or younger who has broken one of the rules of the Connecticut Statues
including running away from home, not going to school or obeying school
rules, and being beyond control of parents. (Section 46b-120(8) of the
Connecticut General Statues).
3. What is non-judicial case handling?
If the child or youth, and parent or guardian or both
admit to the charge or complaint and agree to work with Juvenile
Probation on the charge or complaint, the case may not be handled in the
normal court way. But if the child denies the charge, or if this is the
3rd time the child or youth has been referred to the court, or if the
child or youth is not experiencing any success with the current program
he or she is in, or the charge or complaint is a felony, the case will
be handled in the normal court way.
4. When do I meet with my Juvenile Probation Officer?
In most cases you will meet your Probation Officer (JPO) at your first court hearing or appointment.
Your JPO will schedule meetings with you regularly. You must report on the day and time of your appointment or the date and time given to you
by the police.
5. What if I have an emergency or I am sick, and I cannot come to my appointment?
Call your JPO or Office Supervisor and ask for a new appointment.
6. Why do I have to sign release of information forms?
This gives permission to your JPO to get information from your schools and community programs to
see how you are doing.
7. Do I have to pay for my treatment services?
Your parent or guardian may have to pay for your treatment services if you are not eligible for a program that has a
contract with the Court Support Services Division.
8. How can I get information about services in the community?
You can call INFOLINE at 211. INFOLINE is a way you can get help by telephone or on the internet at
The hearing impaired can also reach the INFOLINE by TDD (Telecommunications
device for the deaf).
9. Where do I send my restitution payments?
- INFOLINE can give you information about housing, money, health insurance, and benefits.
- INFOLINE can also give you information about drug and alcohol treatment, mental health treatment, suicide prevention, help in a crisis and other social services.
- INFOLINE workers speak different languages.
- INFOLINE is a toll-free call from anywhere in Connecticut and is available 24 hours a day, every day of the year.
You will be given a form with instructions about your restitution and what is required. You must pay with a bank check or money order.
Mail your payment to:
CSSD Restitution Unit, 936 Silas Deane Hwy., Wethersfield, CT 06109.